Slice of Life – Stuck???

It is now late in April – almost a month has gone by since the challenge. The March Challenge was great. I wrote daily. I almost always knew what I was going to write. I was ready.

I have made each Tuesday this month but I have struggled. I sit down unsure what I can write about. I find myself writing about spring, new plants and gardens which is great but I am saying the same thing over and over. I am happy for spring I am always saying in the post.

All that is great but several Tuesday of that is enough. Right?

I could tell you it is raining – which it is. I could write about the sound of water on the gardens and street. I could tell you rain and the street.JPGhow the water leaves the black tar shiny and there are small rivers running down the street gutters to the city drain at the end of the block.

There is the smell of moist soil, the Apple buds.JPGbrilliant stark green of the new grass or the mix of yellow daffodils with one bright red tulip in the middle that can be seen from the window as it rains.  There is the tiny hint of pink to be watched on the buds in the apple tree.

I am caught in spring – the sights, the smells and the feel of new growth which surrounds me. Tuesday number four and I am still writing about spring. You would begin to think nothing else goes on in my life and you may be right. It is how I feel.tulip and daffodil.JPG

Oh my days go by – I am doing lots. I am testing 3rd, 4th and 5th graders, I have been to a nice polite wedding shower and I am struggling to read anything and everything. The house gets cleaned and the laundry gets done. But…

There is the problem of my feet which take me walking on long walks in the spring, my eyes that wonder to the window until it is to dark to see out side, my ears listening to the cry of the crows as they dance around the immature hawk who is dive bombing them each evening or the melodies of song birds as they return from their winter homes. My nose follows the scent of soil, the cinnamon smell that floats off the spice bush as the flowers bloom and the decomposing of last falls leaves left over from the winter in the corners of the garden.

I cannot let go of the emotions that swirl around me, the wonder of trees changing from bare branches to small buds to light yellow green leaves to full dark green leaves making food for the trees. I am stuck in the joy of each little change that happens day by day. The tulip bud that was all green yesterday is now tinted with red revealing its hidden color to us just before it blooms. The scraggly hairy plant along the curb burst forth with a pink heart shaped flower during the time I was off testing children today. pink heart flowers.JPG

The world is on the move, it is growing and I don’t want to miss it. So for now I will stay stuck. It is the best kind of stuck. I am stuck watching and recording the growth of spring. What more could I ask for!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice of Life – Stuck???

  1. Adrienne says:

    I have also been having trouble coming up with “good” subjects to write about. How can I find something every day for a month but not once a week? I think I have quickly become less observant, so I am trying to jot an idea in a notebook just before getting into bed to read.

  2. I am sure you already know the answers: The more you write/read/exercise/jog/run/life/code/ program/ think/reflect/wonder/imagine…the easier it gets!

  3. Ramona says:

    Oh, I’m so glad you’re stuck. Your words are beautiful and help me to “see” the world from your eyes and delight!

  4. VanessaVaile says:

    Stuck in one place can mean more time to look around, describe, add sensory details — love the spring pics too. I think about what I’m going to write about but usually write about something else. Either I get a wild hair a sentence or so or go off on a tangent looking up something related to what I thought I was going to write about. When you’re writing for yourself — not a formal assignment, a paper or a proposal, you can do that or the same thing you’ve been doing if that’s what you feel like.

Leave a Reply

