Slice of Life – April is off and running

March was a busy month with blogging daily for the March Challenge, working some and a small local trip planned. All that said I found time for reading, walking and just doing a few things for myself.  I found quiet time and a time of feeling at peace.

April started and we went on a short trip to the north shore of Lake Superior. It is a quick get away place for us. When we returned I knew that state testing season would be on us. I knew that I would be working most days of April. There is no way around it. It is what I signed up for. I am the test coordinator.

Boy – I did not realize how peaceful I had had it. I had forgotten those days that flew from 7 to 2 before you sit down and think or eat lunch. I had forgotten the exhaustion one might feel after multi-tasking for 6 hours straight. I had pushed aside that achy feet and back feeling when you stand all day and then realize at 3:00 that you really need to take your shoes off and sit down.

Life of a teacher is amazing. It is one of constant thinking, planning, adjusting and moving. It is a good thing. It keeps your brain flexible and challenged. It keeps you alert and active. (My Fitbit has lots of steps on it at the end of the day even before I take my walk.)

I love my time with students and teachers. I am glad I have this part time work that keeps me moving, thinking and busy. I love the constant need to be alert and make changes and solve problems. It is all good.

IMG_1225.jpgThat said I will be happy in early May when I can take a short break from testing – travel to see the tulips in Iowa and slow my days down for a few weeks. ( There is always one more round of testing at the end of May.)

Retirement is great – I can work full out for a month or so and then slow down, take a walk, take time for my garden and enjoy the sun!  DSC03788.jpg

I also marvel at all our teachers who do this every day all school year. It is what teachers do – multi-task, problem solving, planning, creating, caring, moving and loving!

 

Yeah for teachers!!!!! and yeah for quiet walks at the end of the day!!

IMG_1218.jpg

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slice of Life – April is off and running

  1. Ramona says:

    Love the lovely way you’ve blended retired life with working. I know they appreciate your help during this busy season. I subbed yesterday and was so surprised at how fast that 30 minute lunch flies by.

Leave a Reply

