Tuesday – Slice of Life – lakes and fog

We arrived at the shores of Lake Superior yesterday. A haze hung over the city of images.jpgDuluth as well as the lake. It made the air heavy, and a bit chilly but it’s April in Northern Minnesota. It is to be expected. It cleared in the mid afternoon and evening to give us a blue sky and glass still lake. A perfect walking night.

We have a room at a B and B that sits on the southern end of the lake. There is a large picture window facing out to watch the water, the fisherman and the large salties (ore boats) that come in through the little canal and under the lift bridge.

Sometime in the middle of the night I woke to find the world had disappeared back into a deep fog leaving the lift bridge only an orange glow as the lights tried to pierce through the fog. The rest of the city on the hill had vanished and the lighthouse at the end of the canal was only a flash of red and green lights barely visible. The low deep sound of a fog horn was sounding every 5 to 10 minutes.

imgres.jpgI settled into the comfortable rockers by the window to view a land of magic. The fog changing how I see and what I feel about the world around me. The trees growing across the garden changed as my vision moved further out. The first one showed sharp edges and the detail of limbs and buds. The next tree blurred around the outline and each tree beyond became less distinct and then they faded away completely.

Watching this world of fog and water in my half sleepy state I thought I heard the voices of fairy folk, the murmur of trees and plants in their early spring arousal. It was easy to feel the line between the hard fact reality with sharp lines and the soft play of imagination. It was an edge that could lead to pleasant fairy tales or dark brooding fears. It was the moment that you know many have faced and fallen into dark thoughts. Yet for me on this one night the water, the closeness of the fog, the trees and the quietly rolling waves rocked me into to a relaxed silence. A time to just sit. A time to do nothing but breathe and be held by the world around me.

 

(Solglimt Bed and Breakfast – http://solglimt.com/ ) – photos are not from this evenings sitting adventure. I was to lost in the silence to find a camera.)

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tuesday – Slice of Life – lakes and fog

  1. Alice Nine says:

    Lovely and thought provoking! We often have foggy mornings in the spring and I like to stand on my back porch during the before dawn moments because, as you write, “It [is] easy to feel the line between the hard fact reality with sharp lines and the soft play of imagination.” Somehow, fog stirs my imagination.

  2. arjeha says:

    Loved being an onlooker on this world you so beautifully created. I can imagine the fuzzy line between reality and fantasy.

  3. Lanny Ball says:

    You really create a scene here that all of us readers can step right into. I love how this post takes on a bit of metaphorical tone, as well. What an opportunity to meditate in a quiet place- so good for the soul!

  4. mbhmaine says:

    I love, love, love your final paragraph. Beautiful!

  5. Sounds like an incredible experience. The two images are marvelous. I love fog!

  6. lindabaie says:

    This is so beautifully written, Joanne. Thank you for sharing those special moments with us. “A time to do nothing but breathe and be held by the world around me” – to remember!

Leave a Reply

