Day 31 – Slice of Life Challenge – Final Day – What I learned again!

31-day-streak-with-border.jpgThank You to this team of writers – to those who set this up, to those who wrote and commented for a few days or for 31 days. It makes a difference for each of us who are writers and for students learning to write!

I began writing with the Challenge six years ago! Wow – six year of writing for 31 days in a row is a big deal to me. Writing is something I dreamed about as a kid and stayed as far away as possible. The act of writing was scary, frustrating and something I thought was out of my reach. The ideas were never the issue but the act of organizing my thoughts, putting words to paper – spelling, editing and flow seemed to be beyond the skills of a learning disabled kid.

When I was little there was not help and no one used the words disability or dyslexic. It was just thought you weren’t very smart. Over time I learned that was not true and grew up to help student learn that was not a true statement – they are smart but they learn in different way.

So writing is something I came to later in life and the idea of writing and sharing my words in a public way was frightening. Yet here I am 6 years later still writing, still sharing and loving every minute of it.

Over the years I have learned:

2012 – I needed a map and at first I needed to write by hand – good old paper and pencil

2013 – reading others writing helps a great deal – we learn from others

2014 – writing gets easier the more you write, feed back is important

2015 – writing is hard work and a community can make all the difference

2016 – this writing platform helps me to keep my writing habit going – meeting, greeting, sharing is the best  – writing habits need to be reinforced from time to time

2017 – I love to write! Developing writing habits takes time – I have learn to stick with it!

Over years!!!

Thanks to everyone for writing and commenting!

I look forward to meeting up on Tuesdays Slice of Life!

Joanne slice-of-life_individual.jpgWelcome Wagon Volunteer with border.jpg

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 31 – Slice of Life Challenge – Final Day – What I learned again!

  1. MAK says:

    Thanks for inspiring me to keep at it for a few more years. I don’t love it yet, but I hope to get there.

  2. arjeha says:

    This is only my 4th year of doing the challenge. I love the list of things you learned over the years. Thanks for the comments you left on my blog.

  3. Yours is a wonderful voice here on the SOL. Your posts often inspire me. keep on writing.

  4. Alice Nine says:

    What a great list of learning! 2013 and 2014 are great years… but 2017 is the best. Yeah for Tuesdays so we keep on writing, right?

Leave a Reply

