Day 24 – Slice of Life Challenge – Walking

Ok, I have to admit that my walking chops are down. The winter has kept us from the long lake walks, the long walked to the local restaurants and the hikes in the woods. We have ventured out a bit when ever ice was gone and when the wind has not been below zero. We have done some walking in the shopping mall just to keep moving on those cold days. ( I hate walking inside – just so you know.)

So today I realized I am out of shape but also that I can push myself and get back to those days of long walks.

I started the day running around a school getting ready for testing that will begin next week. Left there and drove to the Arboretum to meet a group of third graders at the Maple House. Lots of running kids to the bathroom, in and out of the woods and a long walk down to the education center to say hi to a friend. From there I drove home to find a note that said I am at the local coffee shop – walk over and we can walk home together.

So off I went to join him. From there we decided to walk over to a favorite bar for a quick drink and bite to eat and then walk home. On the way home I realized I was feeling a bit tired and starting to drag but on we went. I got this!

Finally sitting on the couch at home feet up and a nice tall glass of water I checked the Fit Bit – I reached the daily goal of 10,000 steps plus today.  I did 6.9 miles of walking. That means 15,982 steps. Not bad for a Friday in March!

There is hope that I will get my walking legs back for the summer! My all time best was walking 22 miles in a day but that was a few years ago. I have a ways to go but I have started! Yeah for spring walking!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 24 – Slice of Life Challenge – Walking

  1. mgminer says:

    Walk is my OLW this year. I haven’t been doing very well – thanks for the inspiration to get back at it!

  2. bbutler627 says:

    Nothing better than revving up and walking in the spring! Great slice!

Leave a Reply

