Day 22 – Slice of Life Challenge – questions and the heart

“The human heart is the first home of democracy. It is where we embrace our questions. Can we be equitable? Can we be generous? Can we listen with our whole beings, not just our minds, and offer our attention rather than our opinions? And do we have enough resolve in our hearts to act courageously, relentlessly, without giving up–ever–trusting our fellow citizens to join with us in our determined pursuit of a living democracy?”

I believe we do —imgres.jpg

From “The Open Space of Democracy” Terry Tempest Williams

I have been playing around with fun words, quick prompts and have enjoyed every minute of it as I write my posts for this challenge. I  did however promised myself today I would  write a post with more depth. I would be thoughtful and engaged in writing to express more. I was not sure what that more was. I just needed to connect with my writing in another way.

Then this morning arrived and as I worked on my computer through out the day news flashes have popped up leaving me lost and sadden as not only our country but others struggle to over come this deep sense of hate. The fight that happens over the conflict of beliefs and ideas is so hard for me to comprehend.

I believe in democracy. I believe in listening and working to understand but the violence that follows for some I just can’t connect with. I can not believe that it will lead to any good. So I found Terry Tempest Williams statement from her 2010 book – The Open Space of Democracy. 

I hold this questions in my heart today and want to follow her thinking of yes – yes – I believe we do!

“…do we have enough resolve in our hearts to act courageously, relentlessly, without giving up–ever–trusting our fellow citizens to join with us in our determined pursuit of a living democracy?”

I send blessing and healing thoughts to all today as we once again process another attack  in the UK and the struggle for truth in our own nations capital.

images.pngLet there be Peace!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

