Day 15 – Slice of Life Challenge – another challenge is food

I have known I am odd for a long time. I have always been on the wrong side of this challenge. The issue is food! I don’t really care about it. I know that it is hard for some to understand but there it is. I have said it. I am the odd person out!

I love to garden and grow food. The smell of fresh growing vegetables is a wonder. I love seeing great photos of food – veggies glowing with health and flavor. I can even enjoy sitting down to a well made meal but to tell you the truth it is usually the people around the table that I remember and enjoy the most. 12107758_10207997996172970_817428976155547460_n.jpg

Does this disinterest in food come from the food allergies I have? Maybe – I need to always be careful how food is prepared. Certain ingredients can send me off to the ER.  (like MSG)

Does this disinterest in food come from the early fights I had with my Mother about eating? Maybe – I was know to hide food instead of eat it, find a way to get it to the bathroom to flush it away or I just sat at the table long after everyone else was off doing homework or whatever.  There I sat with the peas or the meat or the broccoli. We did not become good friends.

tomatoes.JPGDoes this disinterest come from needing to sort out the food with high fat? Maybe – a family history of heart attack and one heart attack last fall makes me leery of which foods are really healthy for me.

 

Now as an aging adult there are some foods I just really don’t like but that is not the problem. I love peas and broccoli now – meat well it is fine but I have never been a big fan of it. It just helps balance out my high energy so I eat it. The challenge is to find a way to cook more to enjoy food or at least to be sure there is food available to eat in the house.

My challenge to myself:

Step one – My personal energy is low in the late afternoon when I should make dinner so today I have pulled out the old crockpot and filled it with wonderful veggies, kidney beans and chicken. At the end of the day it is suppose to be a Chicken and Quinoa Minestrone.  We will see! Cooking earlier in the day!

Step two – When I am most hungry I am sorting through recipes – picking only a few each week. Hoping that the hungry feeling will motivate me to cook.

Step three – Making sure I have the right ingredients in my kitchen and then again cooking earlier in the day.

Step four – Just not worrying about it any more. I have this idea in my head that as the woman in the household I should be the main cook. It is not what I taught my children. My son is the main cook at his household and runs a food truck. He and his sister are great cooks, love food and love to cook. How they got that way is beyond me but there you have it.   pepper.JPG

March is a month of challenges – I am doing great with writing – I have made every day. The cooking – well today I am doing well -crockpot full and gluten free oatmeal cookies are cooling on the counter and it is just 12:00 noon. Not bad!

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 15 – Slice of Life Challenge – another challenge is food

  1. hollymueller says:

    That’s definitely interesting. I am completely opposite. 😉 I LOVE food, and my husband accuses me of thinking about it entirely too often. I start thinking about breakfast before I go to bed and start thinking about dinner shortly after breakfast. Ha. My husband never thinks about food, and he often baffles me by skipping meals. It is intriguing to think about what makes us the way we are. Your theories about yourself make sense. I love that you’re taking on challenges throughout the month.

  2. mrssurridge says:

    I love food, but, as you said, often forget to eat because there are too many other things that need finishing. Loving food doesn’t mean you love to prepare the food. (Yuck!) I’m good with a piece of toast when I’m too lazy to cook. I’m so blessed not to have dietary restrictions. With my personality, once I’m told I CAN’T have something, that’s all I want! Hopefully, you will continue to have a green thumb in the garden–there’s no better nourishment than that!

  3. arjeha says:

    I admit that I enjoy food. What can I say? I like to eat. I have found that if I wait too long between meals I end up with a splitting headache. I would rather eat than fee this way.

  4. Embekka says:

    I am quite the opposite as I love to eat, but am I not too keen on cooking. Don’t mention gardening as that is foreign to me. I did enjoy reading you piece and your perspective on food. It is interesting how your children have a different outlook on food. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Maybe your love of gardening instilled a love of real food in your children ❤

  6. I imagine you and I would be great friends.

  7. Lisa Keeler says:

    Eating to live vs. living to eat. I think I fall in the middle. Good luck with your challenge. I love how your voice comes through your writing.

  8. mcoop1st says:

    Food is always on my mind when I am NOT in the classroom.In the classroom I am too busy to think about food! I work hard to drink my water when in the classroom. I have tried eating almost 100% Organic to eating everything that is around the house. I am still trying to find something that works where I can eat a little of this and that!

Leave a Reply

