Day 5 – Slice of Life Challenge – Not in the Mood

imgres-1.jpg

Ok – it is only day 5 and I am not in the mood to write. I have ideas but not focus to actually write them out.

 

There are the thoughts about:

  • why after getting mad or discipling young kids they then want to be your best friend?
  • what and why is there such harsh treatment at our airports for everyone?  who is really making those changes at each airport? ( artist and writers now having trouble returning to the U.S.)
  • my worries about our public education and where it is going? change is needed but not in the way I see people now thinking about it.
  • what is happening in my garden with this early spring?
  • what will I do next year if the schools budget cuts cut out my part time job?
  • why can’t I find the middle of my middle grade fiction novel that I am writing?
  • why are the clouds coming in when I want to go for a walk?
  • what would I have written if I waited to write todays post later in the day?

As you can see my mind is bouncing from thought to thought – this is even after doing yoga! You would think I got up and drank a pot of caffeine this morning!

Well, there are those days – for us as adult writers. Not everyday can be a gem. So today I post my random thoughts -a list of a few of my questions.

Do you give that option to your students when they are stuck doing their daily writing?

You know there are just those days when there are only questions but no answers for right now!

imgres.jpg(I am currently reading As Brave As You by Jason Reynolds. One of his main characters keeps a small notebook of questions – things to think about and look up later. I love this idea. Maybe that is why I am full of questions today.)

 

new-slicer-badge.jpg

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 5 – Slice of Life Challenge – Not in the Mood

  1. arjeha says:

    I often have no focus when I sit down to write so I know what you mean. Sometimes the best thing to do is what you did…make a list.

  2. Adrienne says:

    Somedays it is so hard to focus. At least it helped you generate ideas for future slices.

  3. Your post caught my eye because, like you, it was hard to center my thoughts around one theme and WRITE tonight. It’s funny how some days it just flows, and other days it feels like the hardest thing in the world! One question from your list is one that has been floating in my mind lately…”why after getting mad or discipling young kids they then want to be your best friend?” Why, indeed. Teaching is full of more questions than answers sometimes!

  4. LSquared says:

    I think I see a theme in your list of things to write about. It sounds like and feels like WORRY. Do you have a recent story on worry for us?
    I have stopped making lists for writing because it overwhelms me. I just try to listen for a line, or notice a thought that kind of hints, “I could write about that.”

  5. I love your list of questions! (Totally stealing this for later in the month when I am struggling to find something, ANYTHING, to write!) I like this line: “Not every day can be a gem.” One thing I enjoy about March is noticing my energy and enthusiasm for writing waxing and waning each day. Some days I sit down thinking I have a great piece to write and it’s a disaster. Other days I sit down thinking I’ve got nothing to write and suddenly there’s a piece I’m so excited about writing.

Leave a Reply

