One Little Word – 2016 coming to an end – maybe

imgresEach January I join a whole group of teachers, writers and bloggers (The Two Writing Teachers Blog) who choose One Little Word that will guide the year for each of us. Some of us choose a word out of thin air. We just know what we need for the new year. Some of us read, think, review past posts, ponder and finally reach that one word we think will help focus us for 12 new months.

Last year I was a ponderer and a wonderer but finally came up with the word Developing. It seemed to fit as I was working on this life of retirement, this life of writing and creating. I have spent the year struggling with this act of developing.

I am back to wondering – what has been developed this year? What new things have I learned or have I created anything at all? There are days that I have to say I am right back at January first when I began thinking about this – nothing created, nothing new to show for a year of being.

Yet if I am honest there has been change, there has been growth but this year it was more of internal quiet change. I don’t have a completed book, I don’t have a completed knitting project, or a drawing of flowers.

What I do have is a developing practice in yoga, breathing and learning to let go of stress. I have a developing weekly practice of writing either for my blog, my novel or my personal journal. I have established a weekly aerobic exercise plan to keep my heart healing and pumping safely. I have expanded my understanding and learning of the garden that circles my yard. I am a developing gardener.

These are all things that can continue to grow and develop within our lives. These are habits that might lead to finished creative projects someday, just not today.

We are all developing. As the world around us changes we also change which leads to developing new thoughts, new skills and new habits.

So as we move toward the new year and I seek to find my new One Little Word – I am reminded that maybe developing is worth hanging on one more year at least.

What word or words have focused your life of the year of 2016?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Little Word – 2016 coming to an end – maybe

  1. carwilc says:

    It sounds like you have done a lot of developing this year. Maybe it doesn’t have to be noisy or visible!

  2. Joanne, thank you for this thoughtful post. I am hunting for my next one-little-word. This past year it was “listen”. And, I was unprepared for the number of times that olw stabbed at my conscious and spirit. The thing about “hunting” for my next olw is that it’s less an action than a waiting and knowing. I wish you a rich year with whatever your new olw may be.

Leave a Reply

