Stepping Away

I had planned to skip writing today. I am tired of the election and the negative emotions it has brought forth. I know at some point I can find the value in all this stuff – there are issues now out in the open that were sitting just under the surface. My hope is that those issue can now be talked about, planned for and things can change. I know it will be slow and a rocky road forward but forward we must go.

In all this craziness my husband and I got in the car last Thursday and drove to the north shore of Lake Superior for a one night stay in Duluth, Mn. (actually it turned into two nights)  The weather was nicer than most Novembers, a room was open in our favorite B and B, and we are both semi retired. We choose not to talk about elections, we choose to walk as much as we could, and we choose to eat only when hungry and sleep if we were tired.

It was quiet, fun and a nice little get away. Sometime it is great to just step away for a day or two.

So I thought I would share a picture view of our days in Duluth.

Take a moment to step away –

view-from-enger-tower beach-and-city beach view-of-d sunrise-boat sunrise

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stepping Away

  1. carriegelson says:

    Oh these photos are gorgeous! Lots of important perspective here!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Such serene pictures…yes, we need to step away from the election for a bit. And, with today, we can!

  3. elsie says:

    You remind me, I need to step away and savor the beauty that surrounds. Gorgeous photos!

  4. mbhmaine says:

    Love your pictures! I think we’re kindred spirits as my post today was a photo journey of recent trips to the beach. Sometimes stepping away for a moment or two makes all the difference in the world.

  5. lindabaie says:

    Water is so soothing, Joanne. I’m glad you shared. I am watching the election results now & I don’t know your choice, but things are very different than has been predicted. We will go on I know, but it’s hard. I’ve love to take your idea for a getaway!

Leave a Reply

