November Sun

street-leavesThe day opened with bright blue skies and sharp angled sun. It is November one and we have emerged from the October rains, wind, spooks, ghosts and goblins. The clear cool air makes the colors still on the trees glow under the early morning sun. There are so many shades of brown, orange and reds to be seen. The yellows are fading or are already on the ground below the trees and I am in love with the color of leaves this year.

In Minnesota we have had our fair share of rain and moderate temperatures this fall. No real frost in the Twin Cities so the leaves have held their places longer on the trees. Many of the flowers are still blooming or growing. They are a bit confused this year. It should be cold and the ground beginning to freeze but we are not there yet. The foxglove are blooming again, red-treethe roses are pushing out new buds to flower and my neighbors front yard raised beds hold beets and leeks yet to be picked.

I know this extended fall may be signs of global warming and yes I am concerned about how this is affecting both plant and animal life but …

The but is I have to admit that I have loved this longer fall. The chance to walk under the variety of colored trees, to swish my feet in colored leaves. The ability to take long walks in the fall woods without turning cold with yellows-and-brown-groundachy fingers and toes has been marvelous.

At least for now I will enjoy the color, sun and gentle fall air before we turn toward cold, the bright whites and deep shadows of winter.

Happy November! yellow-tree

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to November Sun

  1. So beautiful! It’s still very warm here in East Texas. We waiting very impatiently for some real fall weather!

  2. And the glorious smell of the decaying leaves….

  3. Kate Schwarz says:

    I’m out in the Pacific Northwest, where a lot of rain has already fallen this fall. That’s fall for us, I hear, though this is my first year here. But I like this (at least most days) because I look up at the sky, searching for sun. I always celebrate a little patch of blue, always grateful for the sky’s appearance, always counting those “sun breaks” as signs that the blue is there, and it’ll come back again.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    Lovely to see all that color still present. We’re down to browns in the North East – until next Fall.

  5. mgminer says:

    I also love everything about fall color. Thank you for your beautifully descriptive writing!

  6. Ramona says:

    I shared fall color today too! I love the brilliant blue skies in that first picture.

Leave a Reply

