It’s Monday! What are you reading? – a little of everything

I have not posted for awhile because I try to always post after I have finished reading a book or two. At this point in my year I have reverted back to my ADHD self and am reading three, four or more books at a time. In truth none are getting finished and it is not the best way to read but it seems to be where I am right now.

It is hard to say if this scattered style of reading is due to heart meds that have left me a bit brain fuzzy or the stress of health issues, my usually ADHD self or just a change in the seasons but I can’t seem to be able to stay with one book.

Here is a short list of my reading:

  • Jefferson’s Sons –   (MG)(goes well with the Hamilton’s America just shown on PBS) imgres-3
  • The Great Work of your Life (AR -adult read)
  • imgres-4Upstream: Selected Essays from Mary Oliver (AR)
  • The Passion of Dolssa (YA)
  • Two cook books
  • The Horn Book Magazine
  • Garden Illustrated Magazine
  • The Grace of Silence (AR)
  • A Conscious Stillness: Two Naturalist on Thoreau’s Rivers ( AR)
  • There are two more nature books waiting at the library for me – I can’t remember their names but I am sure they are good and Ashes by Laurie H. Anderson in on the way in the mail.

Well, you get the idea!

imgresYou know this kid in your room who is just like me – on Monday he begins to read Eragon written by Paolini  by Tuesday he is reading Mighty Jack by Ben Hatke, Wednesday he is reading Snowy Day by Keats and Thursday he is back to Eragon but starting over since he can’t remember what happened in the first few chapters. It is imgres-1now Friday and you are ready to sit him down and give him a talking to.  READ ONE BOOK!

imgres-2STOP! Don’t get mad at him/her. Take time to chat and see what they are thinking, what is going on in their life and why have they chosen to switch books so much. I am guessing there is a reason even if they can’t articulate it.

Reading is a quiet, solitary activity. It is a time when emotional thoughts and feelings can float to the surface when we don’t expect it. It may be uncomfortable for them to sit quietly and read for long periods.

Given them a chance to reflect on their reading, the likes and dislikes, what is easy and what is hard, why they picked up certain books to read on certain days. They may need to talk about other things not related to reading at all.

Then gently steer them into a mid level reading book of high interest to them. Let them know they can move on if needed but setting a goal to read 1/3 of the book before they switch might help.

There are times in our life when even the best of readers lose focus and become scattered when reading. It’s ok to wander for awhile among the genres. Just watch and slowly nudge them back into a steady reading pattern as the rest of their life settles or be ready to provide support to other parts of their life so that they can then focus again on a great story.

For me I am making a list and setting goals to finish each one. Like our kids as my health issue settle and I feel more in control my reading life goes back to being in control as well. One book at a time – ok well maybe two – I have always kept a children’s book and adult book going at the same time.

Happy Fall Reading!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in behavior, Reflection, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? – a little of everything

  1. Myra GB says:

    UPSTREAM! Have to get me a copy of this.

Leave a Reply

