World in a Blur

When our small world changes it is easy to have things fall behind. September has sailed past in a blur. I thought I was so together. I was reading, walking, going to cardiac rehab, and working a bit. I was told I looked good, and I was feeling ok!

But – now as October comes into view and I really am feeling better I realize the blur was not just time moving fast but more my not being fully connected to things. Like the books I read, yes – books – the problems is I can only tell you the name of one of them. It is  the one I read just this week. I finished reading The Round House by Erdrich.  I have no idea what the children’s books were that I read.

I created schedules for work only to have wrong dates or sending them out without attaching them. I started my Map My Walk and then didn’t turn it off or stopped it but didn’t save the workout.  Yes, rehab people I really did go walking and up hills as well!

Writing – well forget that.  My Monday and Tuesday blog posts have just not happened! Writing on my novel  – well that I didn’t even think about. Putting words to paper is tricky when stressed.

It is amazing to me that we can function in the world but miss so many little things. When we are tired or we are holding stress, fearful or feeling unstable it affects us is so many little ways.

It make me think of all those children trying to learn to read and write and do math with lives that are unstable – sleeping on couches, in cars and wondering about the next meal. The kids who know there are guns at play in their neighborhoods or those who have traveled from war torn places. I get why learning is hard. It takes time, peace and a feeling of being safe to really focus and hold on to the learning.

images

 

We all need to be secure, loved, have a good nights sleep and good food if we are to be readers and writers. I know as I get healthier, rested and feel secure in knowing my heart is working I can read and write again with easy.

It makes me think about little ones in stress today!

Let’s help out children find health and safety! imgres

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World in a Blur

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    Such an important reminder! Sometimes I just can’t imagine what my students deal with. It’s like Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs- you can’t get to those higher levels without the safe and secure foundation of food, clothing, and shelter plus emotional safety. Thanks for your post. Wishing you a great October!

  2. newtreemom says:

    Thanks for this. Hope the blur changes into scenery you enjoy. You saw these connections and expressed them so clearly. Sometimes it takes an extreme experience of our own to open our eyes to what our learners are experiencing.

  3. arjeha says:

    I totally understand th “blur”. I often find myself looking at the calendar and wondering where the time has gone and how did I forget what I did yesterday.

Leave a Reply

