when life gets in the way

Ok so I really wanted to post today! I have a post started that is harder to write than I can do at 9:15 p.m. after a busy day. The detail that is needed to express what I am think is just to much right now. It is not that it is bad or hard, well kind of hard but it is a post with more emotional ties than I wish to step into now.

___________

This is the post I started last Tuesday night about 9:00 p.m. I never finished it – I was not able to focus after a few busy but nice days. I was unsettled but did not know why. I went to bed only to wake up about 11:00 p.m. hurting all over. I placed this pain to the rain, arthritis and stripping wallpaper the day before. Then returned to sleep only to wake up at 4:00 a.m. with neck pain, jaw pain and pain running down both arms and across my chest. A quick google to heart attack symptoms for woman and I knew I was in trouble.
s_129915We were at the hospital by 5:00 and by 10:15 I was admitted, resting, watching vital signs on the monitor and the new owner of a small stent in my heart. We were grateful before measure for a quick thinking and working team of doctors and nurses. I had all the right symptoms for heart attack but no high blood pressure, no high cholesterol, and no high heart rate. I eat a good diet, am thin and exercise but have a family history that tells the story.

After three days in the hospital I am home watching my garden (I am told I can pick my tomatoes in the raised beds), reading, resting and trying to make sense of what happened.  A busy week of projects, plans and events all stopped, a small trip cancelled and plans for a large garden re do for the fall on hold. (My guess is spring is a great time to re do a garden.)

It is amazing how life can change in a moment. A moment we can’t see coming but there it is. We are taking it a day at a time. Slowly restarting our life – new medicine to take when I was taking nothing before, lots of doctors follow up appointments and rehab to get everything safely moving again.

It is a shock but after it all I can only say I am pleased to live in a city and country where help is not far away. A place where medicine this there (even at the high cost) when needed and where family and friends hold a safe place for me to heal.

I am grateful today because I am here.

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to when life gets in the way

  1. mbhmaine says:

    Oh, my! How scary! I am so glad that you recognized the symptoms and were able to get help quickly. Wishing you swift and uncomplicated healing!

  2. arjeha says:

    I am so glad that you are doing well. I can so relate to this topic after having had a triple bypass in March. Life changes quickly and plans are put on hold. The main thing is that you got the help you needed. Listen to your doctor. Because I did I was able to make my trip.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      I though of you as I was flat on my back. I remembered you were starting your trip and it made me happy to know I will be back up on my feet. Thanks for your note. Have fun traveling!

  3. That is so scary! We had a teacher at school during pre-planning week who had heart attack symptoms and had to be rushed to the hospital. I am so glad for you that help was close by and swift. Godspeed the healing.

  4. Glad you got the medical help you needed and are feeling better bit by bit. What a scary time for you.

  5. newtreemom says:

    That last line says it all, I think. I am grateful right along with you. This community of writers loves your voice. Hoping for a smooth recovery!

  6. Tara Smith says:

    So glad that you are on the way to recovery!

  7. >I am grateful today because I am here.<

    This line just gave me chills. It's so final, yet, it can be said day after day. I'm glad that you were able to get what you needed and hope that the healing process is one that leaves you stronger than before! 🙂

Leave a Reply

