More important than water??

“Sometime it seems like it is more important than water”                                                                            – a direct quote from the internet guy

Once again we have been without internet connections for the last week. In some ways it feels like a blessing. We have been in our own little world. No real news from the outside since we read all our newspapers on line. We watch little to no commercial TV so have only picked up bits and pieces of news when out to eat or the occasional scan of the news when I turned my phone into a hot spot. We have not missed the political noise and hate speech that has been part of our lives for months.

On the other hand we have been struggling with the change in routines. My morning read of the news while sitting in bed has left me wondering what to do at 6:30 in the morning. There is the issue of my daily writing not backing up to the cloud. My Monday and Tuesday Blog could not be posted unless I went some place. My e-mail not being answered.

My husband, as a technical writer, has left each morning when the neighborhood library opens. This is good I guess –he is walking more and it is always great to use the library. Unless you are under deadline and are writing detailed materials then the crowds and loud children’s corner becomes a bit of a distraction.

Both of us have headed to the local watering hole each evening to get on line to check e-mail. I also check Facebook, and Instagram while he is checking his Twitter feed. (Ok chatting and checking phones at the bar is not all bad.)

Is all this really more important than water? No – it is all doable but I was surprised at how often I turn to the internet for information. Also how often during the day an e-mail or note shows up that I would have answered more quickly (even though I am retired). The computer and the internet have woven its way into lives. It is part of the way we work, play and connect to friends and family.

imagesWould I go back to my childhood time of newspapers delivered to our door, to the party line phone that sat in the hallway between the bathroom and the bedrooms, to writing and mailing letters to ask questions and share information with friends, to the waiting to get photos developed only to find I spent money on blurry images and people heads cut off?imgres

I think I will stick to waiting for the internet guy to fix our line and happily return to my daily newspaper reading on my I-Pad each morning at 6:30.

________

Just as I finished writing my post in a word doc our internet came back on with blinding speed making us all happy – computer guy who found the issue in the line a few blocks away, my husband who is now sitting in the quiet living room finishing his work and I in my upstairs office ready to post my writing, check in on my e-mail and catch up on the news!

imgres-1

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in computers, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More important than water??

  1. Adrienne says:

    I sometimes get a little nostalgic for the pre-Internet days. But, this is our reality now and I love the ability to connect with family far away.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      I was thinking that way until I started writing and realized pretty quickly that those old days were not a much fun as I thought. I like not having the neighbors listen in to my phone conversations, getting to pick what photos are worth printing and as you say connecting with family and friend far away.

  2. marilynyung says:

    Yes, like others, I sometimes wish “paper” still ruled… news I can hold in my hand, set down on a table. Also, sometimes I say I miss writing on typewriters, but then when I consider how much of a hassle revision used to be, I know digital is best. On another note, for me, the real problem with the Internet is that it’s always LIVE and always ripe with fresh offerings. Therefore, people have trouble putting it down and actually living their lives. I know I’m guilty of that, and maybe that’s an issue more applicable to social media specifically. Thank you for your post!

    • Joanne Toft says:

      I agree – social media can hold our attention way longer than it should. There is indeed a time to turn everything off and head outside. That is what my garden is for. Thanks for your comment.

  3. I find it is restful when I’m forced to disconnect, but, as you say, it’s also inconvenient. No, I wouldn’t go back to the “olden days,” but a little vacation there is nice. I think you’ve given me my Slice idea for today!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I looked for your Monday post & it was not there, at least then, Joanne. I took your advice & read Navigating Early last week. It was wonderful! I’m glad you’re back, and glad you had the chance to compare. It’s interesting about the changes.I went to a home sale last week & there in the hallway was a phone place, seat & little desk. It made me quite nostalgic, especially for those places we had in our dorm. To get a phone call then was so special!

Leave a Reply

