It’s Monday! What are you reading? Ben Hatke

Happy 4th of July! Yes, it would be nice if I were reading about our country and it’s birth but no I am reading about goblins.

Ben Hatke’s new book came out the first of June and I have not taken time to share it. You know Ben from the Zita the Space Girl series of graphic novels. He also did Julia’s House of Lost Creatures.  This time he has brought us a great cast of characters that are goblins, skeletons and elves. Nobody Likes A Goblin is great fun to share with little ones.

imgres

It is Hatke’s drawing that keep me coming back to his books. They are simple and yet complex. If I take my time I can draw some of his characters (I am not the best with a pencil) but when you add in the details that build his story you then see his wonderful creativity.

He uses the old story book structure of a loss, the chase and the rescue with the help of friends. In this case it is the goblin who has lost his friend, Skeleton, to a group of Adventurers. Goblin sets off to save his friend and finds those who hate and fear him along the way.  When Goblin is at his lowest he finds a true group of friends who step up to help.

The story is short but fun to follow and read several times. It took me many reads before I notices the quiet yellow and blue ghost who shows up as a watcher about mid way through the book. There is even a sword wheeling maiden found among the stolen treasure who joins in the merry celebration at the end of the story.

A fun book for a quiet afternoon read with young folks, a challenge for a bit older kid to create his own goblin story after reading or a drawing challenge. – which one of Hatke’s characters are you going to try and copy?

No matter what you choose to do when sitting down with Ben Hatke’s books it is always an adventure. If you haven’t stepped into his world of space creatures, goblins, and adventurers then now is the time. Little Robot came out last September and Mighty Jack will be out this fall.

You can find out what he is up to and why I keep using the word adventure here.  Be sure to scroll down the page and watch is short video about creating and adventure!

images

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? Ben Hatke

  1. Tara Smith says:

    What an unusual book! Thanks for sharing, Joanne.

  2. Sounds interesting. Fortunately, my library has a copy of this book. Thanks for sharing your experience. I am going to give it a try.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I loved Julia’s House of Lost Creatures, and this one looks great, too. Thanks, Joanne!

  4. I’ve already put a hold on this one – I loved Zita the Spacegirl, so I’m definitely excited to have a look at this one!!

Leave a Reply

