Reviewing possibilities

uni_campanile_1

 

Over the weekend I had the opportunity to visit my old university. I have not been back for years. The sun was shinning full blast with the Iowa heat and humidity. The campus was silent on this Father’s Day Sunday. It really is not a time most people are wondering a campus.

The three of us moved slowing in the heat and the memories of time gone by. We spent our time slipping between the now of new and remodeled buildings and the past of our college days. It is funny how a doorway or a set of steps can usher forth forgotten memories.

The Girls Gym and swimming pool is now the Innovative Teaching and Technology Center. The old concrete bleachers are now part of a lounge area. The old and new blended in an artful design.

Stepping into the library gave the rush of long ago study times. A favorite reading room long gone to new designs. The children’s room for us elementary majors was moved out of the basement and on to the second floor  – not as cozy but more light and space. The music building has the old feel of practice sessions, late night rehearsals and a beginning music class that we all slept through.

I realized while wondering this beautiful campus that back in the day I had a very narrow view of what I could do and the classes I could take. Now I look at the different departments and think – so many possibilities that I let slip by. I could have gotten a library degree. I could have gone into horticulture. Why didn’t I follow … you name it there are so many things I now wish I had done.

The whole world seems so open when you have retired and grown for so many years. My thinking is so much wider and my skill set is very different. The younger me was struggling as a student, did not know of all these possibilities. My world was very small then and there was not someone there to help me sort things out. The world seems so full and wonderful for students now!

But really many of them are just where I was – the possibilities are there but what are we ready for, what steps can we really take at 18 years of age are often small.

I do love the support system that seems to be in place for students today. Maybe those friendly faces can help open the doors to a larger world that I could not see back in the 60’s and 70’s.

Oh, if only I could return with the knowledge I now have!

IMG_7163 copy

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reviewing possibilities

  1. newtreemom says:

    Familiar thoughts to me…though I am glad to be a teacher, that choice has many more possibilities than I considered back then. I still have a few years to expand horizons as I move toward retirement. Writing has already made a huge difference…something I had not really considered until my first Slice of Life Story Challenge in March 2012.

  2. arjeha says:

    Retirement does open up a whole new world of possibilities.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Oh yes, that last line….I feel that way too 🙂

  4. cweichel says:

    Your post today reminded me of visiting Simon Fraser University, a place I attended in the early 70s a few decades later. There’s so much change. It’s so much more conservative than it was. You are right in that there are many options that we declined, but I think for me at least I made the right choice to choose education. The best thing about being an educator is that those doors never really close.

Leave a Reply

