Raining

imagesI usually love listening to the rain. I love the smell as the soil fills with water. I love the lush green of the the trees, grass and plants as they fill with this extra push of water. It is the stuff that life is made of.

We are physically water ourselves and this rain makes me feel one with the natural world around me. My garden is in love as all my new plants stand taller. Their roots settle into the wet moist earth.

That said todays rain ( over 2 inches of it) feels more like tears. I woke to my routine of reviewing the news from online news agencies, articles people have clipped and posted on Facebook and notes from friends. It is just sad. It was the news that makes tears.

It seems we have lost our way in what makes life whole. The richness of the world flowing together like the rivers. We are not listening to each other with care and concern. The love of reaching out to the diversity of our world seems to have gotten lost or forgotten.

I think of all the variety of plants in my garden and how they find a way each year to grow side by side. Some, like the Lupines, have long roots seeking water far below the surface. Others, like the iris, run the roots just below the surface catching a drink of the first rain drops. They all push each other around a bit but most find a way to grow peacefully through out the year. There is always one or two that need a reminder to not be to invasive. They just get excited about growing but they all make it to the end of the season.

As people we have not learned that lesson. There are to many young ones not making through each season. The Orlando shooting is beyond understanding, the authors and books being banned because they share stories some don’t want to hear but really need to – I just don’t get. The environment that is being destroyed because we choose not to think and listen.

We are a country at war with ourselves. We have forgotten to listen to each other, to what nature is telling us. There is room for all of us – there really is. We just need to open our hearts and listen.

SONY DSC

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raining

  1. jhaworthoy says:

    Oh yes, we just need to open our hearts and listen. I truly believe that we need to observe plants and animals and learn from them. I like that you talked about the rain and sitting and listening to it. We need that right now.

  2. arjeha says:

    Yes, we need to grow side by side. There is room for all of us.

  3. I agree with you that there is room for all of us to grow, and I especially love how you think of those plants who can get a bit excited and take up too much space. But honestly, I’ve been thinking and hoping this tradgedy becomes the impetus for meaningful change. Gun control would be a good start I think.

Leave a Reply

