It’s Monday! What are you reading? – non fiction & YA Fiction

Ok, so the non fiction is really manuals and direction for state tests. Minnesota like the rest of the country is in the thick of reading and math tests. I am a test coordinator. It really means I run the computers, track down kids, let them know they can “ROCK this test” and schedule and reschedule tests.  We are almost there. Friday is the drop dead date for all of our state testing. Yes, we will make it I am sure!

At night I sit and stare at green living things – anything that is not a computer – trees, bushes, grass, tulips blooming and onions growing.  I did read The Mystery of Hollow Places over the weekend. A great YA book on family issues. Podos pulls us into the life of Imogene, a seventeen year old, who is hunting for her father by seeking her mother. There are layers of mysteries here so I hate to say to much. It is a story worth discovering as you go.

22811780Rebeca Podos weaves in loss, mental health issues and good old fashion boy girl romance in this mystery of questions and stories told to help a young child understand the confusion when one parent leaves the family. Now as a teenage she must unravel those stories if she hopes to find her father.

It is gear for high school but 7th and 8th graders would be drawn into the story as well. There is high school drinking (our main character – Imogene learns that drinking isn’t so much fun the next morning)  and references to sex but no action happens within this story.

I am reading:

  • Hour of the Bees
  • Where I Belong
  • The Forgotten Garden ( adult)
  • America’s First Daughter
  • The Zookeepers Wife

IMWAYR 2015

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? – non fiction & YA Fiction

  1. Ramona says:

    We started testing last week. Two more weeks for us. I train with the teachers, fill in for teacher breaks, and am available if teachers are absent. I know you’ll be glad when Friday arrives. I love your list of what you’re reading! I’ve heard good things about The Hour of the Bees and wanted to read Zookeeper’s Wife for a long time. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

