It’s Monday! What are you reading? Mary Downing Hahn

We are into the April showers (hoping to bring May Flowers). The day is once again dark, a bit of thunder and lots of water falling from the sky. It is perfect for curling up with a cup of tea and a favorite author. I have to admit I haven’t read the book yet but thought a shout out to a good author might be fun to write about today.

Over the years I have read and read aloud Mary Downing Hahn’s books. It all started with Wait Until Helen Comes, which was published in 2008. It was a perfect ghost story for my 3rd, 4th and 5th graders. Hahn’s work spans a variety of genres. She has written historical fiction, contemporary fiction, and fantasy—but she is best known for her ghost stories and mysteries.

A while a ago I wrote about Took (2015). This week while walking home from the library I found yet another of Hahn’s books. This one came out in 2014 and fits into fiction about friendships, bullies and a bit of nature.

belong-smWhere I belong looks like a great middle grade read but for me who is unable to step into my lush green gardens due to mud and rain stepping into this book set in the woods might just help. It has a dedication to nemophilists everywhere – Those who love the woods.

We could never have loved the earth so well if we had had no childhood in it.

George Eliot – The Mill on the Floss

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? Mary Downing Hahn

  1. Mary Downing Hahn was a favorite with my middle school students, but I haven’t kept up with her books since I left the classroom. Where I Belong sounds wonderful. I’m glad we were able to enjoy a weekend out in the woods.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I have enjoyed Mary Downing Hahn’s books, too, and it’s great to hear about another, Joanne. Hope it dries up soon for you!

  3. I think I ordered Took based on your recommendation. I’m waiting for it to arrive. I just hope it’s not too creepy for me.

  4. Myra GB says:

    My daughter absolutely loved Mary Downing Hahn at one point – I especially love her horror stories.

  5. ejmam says:

    My elementary book club enjoyed the Mary Downing Hawn ghost story we read. I’m glad she’s still enriching your reading life.

Leave a Reply

