It’s Monday! What are you reading? books about a fox

It is getting late and I have lots to do tonight but just wanted think about the two books I just read over the last week or so.

imgres-1I started with Pax by Sara Pennypacker which I reviewed a bit ago. I liked it once I got into it. The story is of a young boy and his fox. It is about their separation and they effort to find each other and the growth that happens in that journey.

I then read Maybe a Fox by Appelt and McGhee. This story is about two sisters, loss and how the fox helps one come to terms with the death of family members. imgres

Both books are geared for upper elementary kids to middle school. They are short and easy reads but with lots of content to talk about. There is so much to be discuss.

Here are some of the topics

  • family relationships
  • loss of family members
  • relationships with pets
  • growing up
  • relationships with friends when dealing with loss
  • trust

They would be a great pair to have groups read and discuss. I could also see them as read alouds since there is rich discussion to be had as you read as well.

What do you think?  Has any one else read both books? I would love to know what people are thinking. I was surprise to have two books so similar a topic and yet so different come out so close together.

Great Fun is publishing – so many new things to read!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

