Slice of Life Challenge Day 27 – Book Hunting

Books – which one do I buy? I am buying for a one year old. Do I buy for the child or do I buy for the parents? Do I buy because it is a great book with a known author or do I go for bright colors and simple pictures?  Can I find the book that fits both parents and kid?  What about me – I want to buy them a book that stretches their thinking about books for kids.

So up and down the shelves I go. I look through the board books, the picture books and get frustrated and go look over to the middle grade chapter books just because.

At last I realize I am putting to much thought into this process. The child is one! She needs pictures, colors and an ok story line. I have a life time to give her books and to share book ideas with her parents so relax.

imgres-1The one year old will get a board book –  an alphabet book of animals made of thumb prints that are textured. It is bright colorful and easy for her to look at and chew on if so desired.

The parents will just have to wait to engage in the deeper world of children’s literature with me.

And for myself I found a picture book to go along with Linda imgresB.’s book she shared yesterday – Ideas are All Around by Philip C. Stead. I brought home What Do You Do with an Idea? by Kobi Yamada.

Just because! images

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice of Life Challenge Day 27 – Book Hunting

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I have What Do You Do With An Idea, too, Joanne, another great book for idea “snatching”! Love your ABC choice too. Can’t go wrong with bright colors and something ‘chewable”. Have a great day!

  2. Lisa says:

    I do this too! I put as much thought into the book as if I were buying it for me, and then I often have to force myself to give it away as I intended!! (Or buy 2 copies. 🙂 )

  3. What Do You Do with an Idea is one of my favorites. I actually use it as a readaloud with my high school students to get them thinking about their self-selected inquiry. It’s such a beautiful book! Between that and your other choices, it sounds like it was a wonderful trip to the book store!

Leave a Reply

