Slice of Life Challenge Day 25 – not stuck just quiet

SONY DSCAbout this time each year in the challenge I have written a post that starts with no words or a no post because I was stuck. I didn’t know what to write about. I was at a loss for words.

This year I am here again but the no post rings differently. It is not a loss of words or ideas to write about but rather I am finally in a quiet mode. The list of things I needed to do is almost done, the weather outside is to cool to dig in the garden and my mind is in a reflective spot. I am in a rare moment of quiet for me.

I could write about:

  • missing my Mother this spring – but that feeling doesn’t need words right now
  • how proud I am of my two children – but I will tell them that directly at family dinner this next week – they are the ones how need to hear this
  • finishing work around testing – but we all know how that goes and don’t need to be reminded
  • the sorting of the family farm – but that is a story without an ending right now so it is best saved till later
  • about the bird calls out my cool early spring window – but I like just listening to them sing

I love to write but sometimes it is just good to be quiet and listen!

It is one of those days!

Enjoy this wonderful Friday and take time to listen during the spring weekend!

It is always amazing what comes up when we are quiet!

SONY DSC

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice of Life Challenge Day 25 – not stuck just quiet

  1. Adrienne says:

    As the world becomes noisier and busier, I think quiet and stillness become more important.

  2. Melanie Roy says:

    I agree that it is important to think in the quiet to recharge and reflect. I like how you had a list of ideas but also reasons why you weren’t going to write about them.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I’ve been running around like a crazy woman doing errands. My daughter broke her leg last week, & they are swamped since she can’t drive. Now the granddaughter has the flu, so that leaves me to get out to go. I made it, & had fun too, but want to thank you for the post to remind me to slow down & just listen. I hear the birds a bit, the wind is coming up, we have more snow on the way. It is quiet & I like it. Enjoy your family dinner this weekend, Joanne.

  4. arjeha says:

    There is a lot to be said about the quiet. Sometimes we hear more than when we are running around. Glad you foune time to enjoy the peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

