SOL Challenge Day 4 – Fun Worries

imgresI know that title seems a bit odd! How can you have fun with worries? It is easy when you start a new adventure. I have been retired for 2 an half years and have gone a bit crazy with the garden thing. No my yard does not look like a park – I have a long ways to go.

Each year I take on a new challenge – another new raised bed, or a different plant. Last year I started grow lights in my basement. This year I added another grow light and planted lots of bulbs in the fall for a spring surprise. All is good.

I organized my seeds, ordered them and I know how many plants I can grow under those lights. I knew that my tomato plants would be ordered through a neighbor who has a friend (you know how gardeners are – they always have a friend somewhere with a plant or two). I was all set. Until this morning.

A short e-mail has sent my best laid plans cattywampus. This little note said my tomato lady isn’t growing tomatoes this year. What!!?? I depend on her, she is great, had/has great plants and so many varieties of heirloom tomatoes. Truth be told I have never met her – just her fabulous tomato plants.

So here is my fun worry – I need tomato plants –

  • can I find a way to start them under my lights – do I have enough space?
  • what plants do I not start under lights so I can start tomatoes?
  • I don’t what to just buy plants at the store – I like my fancy heirlooms
  • do I get another grow light – where would that go and will my husband send me to the crazy house – He just walked away when the bamboo poles showed up yesterday for my beans and cucumber plants this summer.

Today I am replanting the pansy that I started to bigger pots, I am beginning Lupine seeds and re thinking what goes under my lights and if I have space for heirloom tomato plants.

We can’t have a summer garden without tomatoes!  On to my fun worrying!

Welcome to early Spring and thoughts of gardens! Think Green!

Last Years tomatoes in July

Last Years tomatoes in July

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOL Challenge Day 4 – Fun Worries

  1. Lisa Keeler says:

    So fun to read about your garden adventures and plans. Good luck with your tomato plant search.

  2. elsie says:

    Wow, I’m impressed by your new found passion! Maybe you will become the Tomato Lady. Looks like your work is waiting for you to discover just the right tomatoes to grow.

  3. @Stanton_Lit says:

    What fun. I started a herb garden last Spring and can’t wait for it to warm up so I can get back out there. Love gardening, so relaxing…even with the worries.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    You have “planted” an idea, Joanne – grow lamps to get an early start. Good luck with the tomato plants, too, I am definitely planting a few this Spring.

Leave a Reply

