Season reflection – a view before sleep

A look south out my bedroom window gives a view directly into the sidewall of my neighbors house. A tall tan closet wall of the bedroom over the garage. I know not very exciting but at night as I go to sleep my view is just a bit of a angle to the southeast.

IMG_2646 (1)When laying there I see a tangle of winter branches, arms reaching to the sky. They sway with the winter winds and dance slowly as the moon crawls through them. The very tops of these arched arms are finger like branches that push up in bunches.

There is no way for me to measure theses arms but each winter I watch and know that even though it is so very slow they continue to grow inch by inch. My nightly vigil lets me see the changes as they reach just a bit higher from fall to spring.

Come warm weather this framework of arms and fingers will be dressed in green leaves and the dance of branches will be hidden for the summer. I will move on to listening to the switch of leaves through the open window as I sleep.

imgres

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Season reflection – a view before sleep

  1. This slice is full of poetry. What a beautiful scene you created for us — despite the cold.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    As Stacey wrote, this is a poem, Joanne. I have this certain view from where I sit (right now) on my sofa, and often look at the branches of one tree, seeing how high they are compared to the house across the way. Now, your piece will make me look even closer.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    A poem indeed – you stopped to notice the beauty, and created something beautiful in return.

Leave a Reply

