Slice of Life – not again – stuck

imgres

Ok – I did not want to write this “I am stuck post” but here I am. It is now 8:17 p.m. central time. My bedtime is not far away since the alarm rings early these days. (Got to get in there to set up computers for TESTING)

I had set a goal that I would post every Monday and Tuesday. Monday is easy it is a book review. There is always a book to talk about. Today, Tuesday, is another story. It is a day of writing from the heart. A slice of what is happening or what I am thinking about.

BUT – today I am where I have been many days with no new thoughts to add to my writing. If you have followed me you have heard these thoughts before and I hate being so repetitive but here we go –

  • I am helping students practice for yet another test – I know don’t get me started
  • The weather is the weather – cold, grey and chilly. It is January in Minnesota – what can I say.
  • It is to early for gardening but I am growing lettuce and the first batch of seeds arrived in my mailbox yesterday.
  • The issue of student mental health in our high poverty schools still runs high in my thinking  – I don’t have any new answers to this problem -Darn!
  • I have a great list of books to read and just came home from a great book group with retired teachers. They are the best! We think alike, we all read and some of us also take notes. We care about books deeply! What a pleasure.

It is late January what can I say – spring is around the corner I know it is. The days are getting longer – it was after 5:00 p.m. when the sun set today.

Let’s hope next week I am a bit more creative in my writing. Happy end of January!   Think March Challenge – daily writing I better get in gear and get a list of writing topics together.  🙂

Happy Writing Everyone!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice of Life – not again – stuck

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    Creativity isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Just kidding, but don’t be too hard on yourself. The important thing is you wrote. Yay, you wrote!

  2. Lynn says:

    Sometimes we are blank… But then a slice happens!

  3. Thanks for this post. I have always found it hard to write a SOL the day it is due. I have started a new daily writing habit on the Notes app on my phone. It is working because I always have my phone nearby and when an idea hits me, I can just write about it and save it to post later. In the past, I would pull out my laptop and hope inspiration would strike at 10:00 pm. It rarely worked for me. Now, I have daily writing pieces that I choose to share or not on my blog. I know this discovery may not be earth shattering for some, but it has been for me. I am writing now on a daily basis and I am liking the results. I shared this with my students and one of my girls came up to me the other day to tell me she is writing every day, too. Looking forward to the March challenge for myself and for my students. BTW, what sometimes happens when you start out not knowing what to write about is that you end up with writing that speaks to you and to the reader, like this post!

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Thanks – My husband has often used the notes app on his phone to capture ideas for writing but I just haven’t done it myself. I don’t know why. Thanks for the push – I think it is a great idea. I use to write things in a little notebooks that I carried around but stopped once I had my phone. I use the app for other information but not writing ideas or posts. Funny – how simple and right at my fingertips. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

