It’s Monday! What are you reading? Thinking awards

gr_chapter-and-verse-book-club-what-900pxI am part of the children’s book group that is called Chapter and Verse Book Club.  They have small groups around the United States who meet in libraries or book stores to discuss children’s books. This month we are discussing a set of books that were published in 2015 and may be in the running for one of the many awards that we watch for each January.

So instead of a review this week I am listing what we have read and will vote on during the week of Dec. 14th.  I will post the winners from our group the following Monday.

Remember that this list was created a while ago so there are lots of 2015 books that we did not get to add to the list.  I will be using the winter break to be looking at the Mock Newbery and Caldecott lists from schools and other book groups to see what else I may have missed in my reading this year.  The waiting and wondering is always fun in the cold of January.

What we read and will discuss this month –

The Mock Newbery

225461339k=

  • Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan
  • Stella by Starlight by Sharon M. Draper
  • The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

The Mock Caldecott

61cWSQzgrVL._AA160_ 51yuJ03e5FL._AA160_ 51ytgSiH67L._SX405_BO1,204,203,200_

  • Last Stop on Market Street, by Matt de la Pena, illus by Christian Robinson
  • Red: a Crayon Story, illustrated and written by Michael Hall
  • Should You Be a River, illustrated and written by Ed Young

The Sibert Award

51AAOSXSHvL._AA160_ 51Y4euOFhjL._AA160_ 613eWHLXN5L._AA160_

  • The Death of the Hat by Paul B. Janeczko, illus by Chris Raschka
  • Enormous Smallness by Matthew Burgess, illus by Kris Di Giacomo
  • Stonewall, written by Ann Bausum

The Printz Award

41rQvhk5jqL._AA160_saint_anything51D8EaJkedL._AA160_

  • Audacity, written by Melanie Crowder
  • Saint Anything, written by Sarah Dessen
  • Mosquitoland, written by David Arnold

(Thanks Vicki Palmquist for all your hard work on this.)

What have you read and what do you think will be on the list for awards this January?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? Thinking awards

  1. Linda Baie says:

    What a wonderful group you’re in! I haven’t read any of the Printz award possibles, but know of them. I’ve read all the rest except I’ve never heard of Should You Be A River, which looks awesome. Thanks for sharing these, Joanne.

  2. Myra GB says:

    I love the look of Stonewall – I have to check that one out. Chapter and Verse sounds like a fabulous book club! 🙂

  3. Sounds like a great group, wish we had something like that where I live! I have to be content with my virtual children’s book clubs 🙂

  4. I also wish there was a book club like this here where I live. I will have to see if I can interest some people around here. Do you drink wine and eat chocolate? Anyway, thanks so much for the heads up about new (to me) books. I’m looking forward to Should You Be a River, Audacity and Stonewall,

Leave a Reply

