What season is it?

IMG_2547It is a rainy day with light winds and the temperature is sitting at about 50 degrees. I know it is November and I am getting ready for the winter that could find us at any moment now. I have cleared the gardens, planted the bulbs and garlic. I have cut back most of the perennials and put away the garden tools. I have even created my winter greens to sit outside my front door.

The thing is parts of my garden are not sure what season it really is. There is the Smoke bush that is still in IMG_2537full fall color. The Lilac bush has new IMG_2541green leaves on it, although there is part that looks more like late fall. The Clematis is determined to keep growing and is climbing through the slates on the deck.

IMG_2543

 

 

What more can I say other then that I live in Minnesota and we are always wondering about what season we are really in!

Maybe it is why Minnesotans talk about the weather so much.

Enjoy whatever season you are in and share it with those you love!

It is always the season to remember friends and family!

Slice of Life logo

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What season is it?

  1. Jaime Mendelis says:

    Here in NY I feel this way too! Do I get out my winter coat? Do I put away my shorts and t-shirts? The changing of the seasons always keeps us in limbo . . . including nature 🙂 Also love the pictures you included — hoping not to see snow too soon!

  2. Great pictures! I feel similar in New England. Yesterday was in the 60’s, today it was in the 40’s!

  3. elsie says:

    The only thing consistent about weather is that it is always changes. We have azaleas that have decided to bloom again. Mother Nature will soon surprise these plants when winter moves in.

  4. Joanne Toft says:

    Oh dear! I was worried about the Lilacs the bud are really pushing to open. I hate wishing for cold but I think it would be good for the plants about now.

  5. Tara Smith says:

    I meant to plant bulbs…but I love that you plant garlic, too. Next year!

  6. newtreemom says:

    Thought you must be talking about Indiana…I guess the weather is playing tricks everywhere!

  7. Linda Baie says:

    Love the pictures, Joanne. Big snowstorm last night and today, but yesterday early it was about 60. My geraniums are still going well. Lots of ups and downs this fall, and you’ve shared that well.

Leave a Reply

