Seeking words to think about

searchAs the early morning sun came up I sat in bed scrolling through Facebook before getting up to do a bit of yoga. As I scrolled through the crazy posts there came Einstein’s face again.  Someone is always posted a quote from him. I read it and moved on.

I did yoga, eat breakfast, showered and moved on to the days tasks but this quote kept following me around. I finally needed to stop and go back to re read it – to see what it must be saying to me. Of course, in returning to Facebook it disappeared into the mounting posts of the day.

I scroll and scroll, I do a search for quotes, I want to let this go but for some reason I can’t. So here I sit at my computer knowing I am to be on the road to another task but for some reason I need this quote.

It is an hour later when it final pops up on my computer – have I wasted a whole hour hunting for this thing but I realize this hunt is a bit like my life these last few years doing lots of things without a lot of focus.

A waste of time? No, what I really know is nothing is wasted. Even my hour on Facebook was not a waste. It was an exploration of learning. It was a time of seeking, reading, and looking for a bit of knowledge to think about.

We need this time of exploring to match our interests or wants with the world around us. It is developing energy towards a new interest, a new way of being in the world. Each step I take can be leading me in new directions if I choose to listen. It just depends on how you look at it.

All my crazy tasks in the last few years – gardening, knitting, drawing, writing, photography – could be considered a waste of time. A time where I am not focused on one thing, just like my morning scroll through Facebook – just jumping from post to post reading a bit here, watching a video there, looking for something but also not looking.

In reality it is not wasting time but developing energy, understanding, and knowledge about who I am and where I am headed now in my life. We often don’t allow our selves this space to just try things, to tinker with projects. We want a product right away, work with a purpose. We want the completed book, the finished sweater, the perfect garden now. It is what society and our peers push at us. Did you finish the book you were writing? Is that sweater done? I thought you had finished your garden.

Maybe it is not always about finishing but about experiencing to find that synergy in our actions with the desires we want to produce, the life we want to create.

Here is Albert Einstein’s thoughts: (update: not his quote see note below)

Everything is energy and that’s all there is to it. Match the frequency of the reality you want and you cannot help but get that reality. It can be no other way. This is not philosophy. This is physics.”

It is time to play, try and explore that helps us understand and know how to match these frequencies. We need it as adult as we transition to each new part of our life. I also know our students could benefit from this time to explore as well. Sometimes we call it play.

When do your students play with the knowledge given them?  When do you play with your interests?  When do we find time to explore and match the energy of what we want our life to be and what it really is?

Just thinking –

Slice of Life logo

Correction: After posting I had a further discussion with my husband who informed me this quote pulled from Facebook is not a quote from Einstein. I like the quote anyway but I think it is important to know more about it’s source.  So here is where you can find more information about this quote.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in behavior change, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seeking words to think about

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Beautifully said, Joanne. The saddest part is “Sometimes we call it play.” Lots is being written about the lack of play in children’s lives. We know that we had much of it, yet things have changed, getting that “product” is often expected, I agree. Someone wrote today of meditation, another about mindfulness, so calling for “time” is what I’m thinking is a big need lately. I do love the process, enjoyed your words! Here’s another quote for you: “”No man ever said on his deathbed I wish I had spent more time in the office.”

  2. Ramona says:

    Great post. Enjoyed your analysis of now as a time to try things and tinker. I wish everyone in our world had more time to play – adults and children! Love that you’re using your time to develop energy, understanding, and knowledge of yourself – no product required.

  3. Love the title of this post in so many ways. I really connected with the part about not always finishing but experiencing…big connection to that. Thank you for sharing your ideas!

Leave a Reply

