It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYRI am not sure what happened to last week. I had and still have a long list of books ready to read but reading them did not happen.

There was traveling to see family, there was late summer gardening and there was – hummmm I don’t know.  I know I read but nothing was completed.

imgresI am slowing soaking in the words for Christopher Lloyd and Beth Chatto.  They are English gardeners – really I would say the old stylish gardeners from years gone by. This book is a collection of letters between the two of them. It is called Dear Friend and Gardener. I am sure I have already referenced this in my writing.

I can’t follow all the Latin flower names or all the people and gardens in Europe they mention but it just doesn’t seem to matter. I open the book and step into another time and place.

I hate to even write about it – my guess is most people would start reading it and go so who cares.  For some reason I do. It connects to some place deep inside and lets me rest, slow down and just be.

Have you ever had a book like that? A book that just makes you happy to read it. A book that doesn’t have a great story to tell, a book without much adventure or characters to latch onto and yet it is the book.  The book you come back to read over again. The book you save for the moment when you just want to slip away into your own thoughts.

What is the book that you return to, the book that holds you and lets you settle into a peaceful read?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I so appreciate your feelings about Dear Friend and Gardner. Your words stuck with me: “It connects to some place deep inside and lets me rest, slow down and just be.” This particular book may not be one I’d pick up (but your post makes me curious about it) but I completely get what you are saying.

  2. Myra GB says:

    That is a beautiful way of describing a book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

