Bees, Bugs and more Bees

I am a gardener. I am an organic gardener. I garden in the middle of a large city. It is a wonderful thing to do. On a glorious morning like today – sunny, cool fresh air, dew covered grass – I walk out my front door bare foot and pull a few carrots for lunch, pick tomatoes and check on the new planting of beets. In the back garden I water the new plants in the rock garden that I am developing on the old fire pit patio. Life is good.

I have an over abundance of pollinators in my garden. They are everywhere and that is a good thing. Right?  Well, I thought so until I realize that one group of my friendly pollinators has taken up residence in the ground. We are now the proud owner of a large bubble bee colony. IMG_2295

I know there are stories to be written about these wonderful guys. I know we need these small critters in our world. I know I want to do the right thing but we have a problem –

  • there is no mowing near the colony
  • there is only very careful walking in the back yard due to bees – everywhere
  • there is no watering and picking cucumbers that are near the nest
  • there is no digging up the new potatoes near the nest
  • there is the issue that I am mildly allergic to bees – lots of swelling, not fun, hard to breathe

So I made the call. They are coming! I am sorry bees but you need to live out in a more open area not in my back yard.

The live trap bee removal guys will come and help find a new home for my bees tomorrow!images

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bees, Bugs and more Bees

  1. arjeha says:

    Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. I am sure the bees will enjoy their new home and you will be able to enjoy your garden.

  2. glenda says:

    The bees are going to a better place for you both. When I read the line, “We made the call,” but you made the right one! Beautiful pics, BTW.

  3. Since you couldn’t live in peaceful coexistence, it sounds like you did the very best thing. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as live trap removal services.

  4. jhaworthoy says:

    I am so glad you are able to live trap them. I just knew, from reading your blog throughout the last few years, that you would do your best to not destroy the hive. Sometimes we have to take care of our own needs….and you have solved that…and the bees will find another happy place. We have too many trees to have a garden…and what I do plant has become food for the deer. It is okay with us…we like to see the wildlife…but a nice homegrown carrot sounds really good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

