Rainy days -Slice of Life

imagesAt 6:00 a.m. this morning the rain began in full. The thunder sounded and the lightening flashed. It was about an hour of water pouring from the skies. The rain gage registered 2 inches in that hour.

The air cooled, the rain settled and we now have a grey and drippy day. I have a list of things I will get done on a day like today. The things I say I can’t do on a day I can be out in the garden.  Here is the day for

  • cleaning my office
  • sorting pictures
  • reading past writing to see what I can work on now
  • cleaning out the old file cabinet in the basement

Oh the list goes on – I bet you have a list like this as well.

Well, here I am in my office and I can’t seen to get started. My morning tea did not wake me up, my morning check of the news did not wake me up, nor did my morning quick write.

So I am giving up – I am off to find a nice corner to finish my tea, continue to read my book and maybe just take a nap.

I wonder if I will wake up this afternoon by the time I go to yoga. Do you ever have a day when you just can’t wake up?

images-1

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rainy days -Slice of Life

  1. Loralee says:

    I love rainy days … I feel everything slows down …
    Reading a book and taking a nap sounds perfect!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    We’ve had lots of rain, more than usual, since spring, but Denver just never has one of those rainy days. I remember them from Missouri, Joanne. And sometimes the gloom does make one sleepy. Sometimes it also means it’s time for a nap, & that’s okay! Have a wonderful drowsy & rainy day!

  3. Adrienne says:

    We’ve had a hot dry summer, so i was thrilled when we had rain a few days ago. It felt like Fall and I was happy, since Fall is my favorite season.

  4. Lori Sheroan says:

    Those “grey and drippy days” you described so well sometimes offer the best chance just to take it easy! Enjoy the cozy, quiet of the day.

  5. Ramona says:

    We’ve had almost no rain for months – so unusual for Seattle. So I read this post with envy. I did enjoy a few days of cloudy weather this past week. My advice, savor the day, take it slow, do what you want – rainy days are perfect reading days.

Leave a Reply

