It’s Monday! What are you reading? – food books

IMWAYRIt’s Monday and I realize another week has slip by and I am just finishing my book from last week. I am not sure what has happened this spring. I usually devour book after book but the sun, warm weather, plants and (oh yeah) testing has slowed my appetite.

I am just finishing All Four Stars by Tara Dairman. This is a great allfourstars_finalmiddle grades read centered on what one can do if you really have a passion for something. In this case Gladys has a passion for food- cooking food, and writing about food but she is in 6th grade with parents who have banned her from the kitchen. A small matter of setting the curtains on fire while glazing a creme’ burlee. You really need to have the right kitchen tools – blow torches just don’t work the same way as a small creme brulee torch does. (You will have to read about it – it is all I am going to say.)

This would make a great read for a summer evening on the porch or at the beach. It is light, funny and filled with adventures of sneaking into New York and hiding the fact that she is in 6th grade with a love of everything having to do with food.

—-

It did make me think about what other books are about food –

  • A Dash of Magic  (Bliss Bakery Trilogy)
  • Granny Torrelli Makes Soup by Sharon Creech
  • Close to Famous by Joan Bauer
  • A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd ( less food but still a fun read)

What books are you or your students reading that connect to food in some fun way?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? – food books

  1. Being Woven says:

    This sounds fun and caused me to smile, just thinking about the torch. I am sure she has other unique adventures! ~ linds

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I’m sure some middle grade kids will love this book, Joanne. I’ve certainly had kids that have a passion for cooking. You need to read Beth Shaum’s post today, her ‘currently reading’ book, “The World On A Plate”, for older students & adults, sounds awesome. And Myra has shared a fun picture book titled The Runaway Rice Cake. Food books are terrific!

  3. Thanks for the recommendation. I bet my seventh graders would love this book!

  4. Thanks for the reminder about this book. I’ve got some readers who I know will love it.

  5. Myra GB says:

    Hi Joanne. It’s the first I’m hearing of this book. Good to know! Will check it out.

Leave a Reply

