#SOL2015 25/31 Finding Stories

Slice of Life logoI was sitting the other night surfing the blogs that I enjoy and slipped on to Kate Messner’s blog. She had a wonderful poem called Found. She was seeking to clear her head and get back into writing so a quick mornings ski through the woods is what she used.

I love to read about and see pictures of authors who live near the woods or out on a farm or in a small town with lakes, trees and sky. All those wonderful places outside that hold smells, sounds, feelings and most of all stories.

I live in the city. It is a city with lakes, trees and sky but it’s sounds are different. They are louder, mixed with planes, cars, trucks and the sound of businesses moving forward with their day.

I am a city girl who carves the country stories. The slow pace in the woods, the song of the birds and the growing of wild around me. So I find what I can in the city and I make my own little garden in the back of my house. I can’t go skiing there but the birds come to talk with me, the squirrels enjoy the fruits of my garden (darn them) and yes there are stories hidden under the leaves, behind the lilac bush and in the depths of the tulips as they bloom.

I love the deep woods for stories but I have found that we can find them wherever we walk. We just need to listen.

Summer Garden

Summer Garden

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens, listening, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #SOL2015 25/31 Finding Stories

  1. elsie says:

    If we just look and listen you can find a lot to write about just within your home and yard. Quite of few of my slices were in my backyard. The key is to look for what’s there or not there.

  2. lynnjake says:

    What a pretty garden you have. You have created the best of both worlds!

  3. rosecappelli says:

    No matter where we are we just have to notice what others may overlook. That’s what writer’s do.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    I love this:and yes there are stories hidden under the leaves, behind the lilac bush and in the depths of the tulips as they bloom.
    How marvelous it is to be able to find stories this way!

Leave a Reply

