#SOL2015 24/31 Taming dragons – not for public viewing

Slice of Life logo

Funny – I wrote an extra post yesterday that I plan to post tomorrow. Does that make sense? I am traveling tomorrow  (Wednesday) and was unsure if I would be able to write and post. I got organized and wrote two yesterday. I was so proud of myself.

I am set for Wednesday but here is Tuesday and I am stuck. I have been writing away with ease but today I am blank. My mind is as grey as the clouds outside my window. The day is a bit chilly, dull and quiet and so am I.

I am guessing this comes from the bout of flu that slipped in on Sunday and left me sleeping and moving slowly for two days. It would work as a good excuse but I wrote on Sunday, and two posts on Monday so what is with today.

You know I have to admit that there is a post lurking in my brain but I don’t want to write it. It is full of issues unresolved and emotions that might bubble over in ways unexpected. There are times when deep thoughts brew and stop the day to day pleasures of writing.

Write I must but maybe that stew needs to go in the hand written personal journal. Some ideas are just not ready for public viewing in their initial form. Reflection, writing and time help temper the emotions and bring understanding.

So carry on – I am off to tame my dragons, calm the bubbling fires in my personal journal and am so happy that tomorrows post is ready to go.

imgres

( A side note I wanted to call this post Slaying Dragons but just couldn’t bring myself to use the word slay. It is way more violent than I feel or need. Once looking at images of slaying dragons I backed down and decided all I was really doing was taming a few dragons that have been sleeping in my closet for a few years. They woke suddenly and surprised us all. It is not a full scale battle. No blood and guts will be spilled. Just a bit of serious talking, some feasting and a walk around the castle might settle them down.)

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #SOL2015 24/31 Taming dragons – not for public viewing

  1. agurney2015 says:

    I love your metaphor of “taming dragons.” It creates the perfect image for another writer who was struggling with a post for today (ME!). I hope you have a nice day on Wednesday.

  2. elsie says:

    Some parts are not ready to be exposed and analyzed and digested in a public forum. That’s okay. I hope the walk around the caste and feast will be able to deal with your issues at hand.

  3. Donna Smith says:

    It’s true. Not everything is for public consumption. Feed the dragons and give them a serious talking to…give them time to settle down. Funny. When I was a child my mom always told me NEVER to write anything I wouldn’t want to be seen written in the newspaper. It has always had the effect of tempering (or being a damper on) my writing – often that has been a good thing. Sometimes, though, I know I have a harder time expressing myself through writing because of it.

Leave a Reply

