#SOL2015 22/31 Heavy skies

Slice of Life logoThe clouds hang heavy in the sky, the wind is quiet and the temperature is sliding down to the chill of winter once again. I woke to the gray of late winter and can feel the push and pull of the weather in my joints.

The air is still with the cold I was hoping was gone until next fall. It really is not that cold for here yet I can’t seem to get my body up and moving. I can’t find the spring warmth that was here just yesterday.

My eyes wish to close and I seek to sleep as if winter hibernation is beginning again. Just a little nap – maybe the snow will not come and I will awake with spring really here to stay!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #SOL2015 22/31 Heavy skies

  1. arjeha says:

    After sun and temps in the 50’s today we have sun and temps in the 30’s. I wish the cold would start hibernating and let Spring warmth do its thing.

  2. mvervinck says:

    I know what you mean! It is sunny here today, but that is misleading as the temperatures are in the 30s. It looks warm, but it sure isn’t. I have to say that I am getting tired of hibernating!

  3. Your writing is gorgeous!!! I want to package it up with a bow it is that good!! You captured the unexpected spring snow so well! Thank you for sharing!!!

  4. I think many of us feel so connected to your poem. It is so hard to feel revived and full of life when the weather is not cooperating. The good thing is…spring will be arriving soon- I hope 🙂

  5. Lori Sheroan says:

    We have a chill in the air around here as well. I loved the line, “the push and pull of the weather in my joints…” Thank you for sharing this detailed piece of writing.

  6. marc-aureled says:

    “the wind is quiet and the temperature is sliding down to the chill of winter once again.” I enjoyed this line… I’m hoping we can creep back up to some warmth!

  7. lynnjake says:

    Oh, would that it were true. Maybe a nice hot bath after your nap will set you straight, make you feel looser. And maybe the day will warm up.

  8. mbhmaine says:

    Such beautiful writing! With solid snow pack here in Maine, I can empathize with your well-crafted words. I love your phrase “feel the push and pull of the weather in my joints.” Thanks for sharing.

  9. macrush53 says:

    You all have had such a rough winter. I hope you get your spring soon. And enjoy that nap.

  10. margaretsmn says:

    Spring has come to the south. I started up the AC today and put on shorts for the first time. I hope it makes it to you soon.

Leave a Reply

