#SOL2015m16/31 Pushing forward and overdoing

Slice of Life logoMonday – a clear day on my calendar. A day to do all those things stacked up in my office, my house and my yard. I quickly realized I had over planned the day so I scaled back to just a few important items. Then lunch out with my husband and some yard work.

The three morning writing tasks went well. I pushed ahead and sent them off to their destinations. The weather here is nice – cloudy but mild so it was decided we would walk over to a local restaurant for lunch. It’s about an hours walk over, lunch and an hours walk back. It was a windy walk but felt so good to stretch my legs and walk a distance after all the ice and cold of winter.

Excited to begin the spring clean up I went right to work on the front garden. Cutting the wild grass that is 7 feet high, cleaning out the old leaves and brushing clear the snow mold of wintering herbs. I was gleefully crawling along on hands and knees checking the earth for little signs of growth just at the soils surface. It was there – the perennials are just peeking above the ground. I am pulling my leaf bag behind me, checking bushes and tumbling over my tools as I work out the kinks in my body from a winter of to much sitting.

After clearing the front beds I decide I should be wise and take a break, sit for a few minutes with a drink of water. In those few minutes my body turned on my gleeful activity and began to tighten up. The back is a bit stiff, the upper legs feel the muscles that were not used during the winter months and last but not least the healed right wrist (it was broken in two places this winter) decided to let me know it is not quiet ready for lifting, hauling, pulling and crawling. Oh yes, it stiffens, swells just a little bit and says slow it down lady. You don’t have to do it all today.

cropped-spring1.jpg

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #SOL2015m16/31 Pushing forward and overdoing

  1. lgrainger125 says:

    Your post reminds me spring is just around the corner! Yay! I can’t wait to feel those muscles.

  2. mgminer says:

    I love your glimpse into retirement. I’m looking forward to more time for the garden:).

  3. This is a beautiful portrait of a busy day, and a wise body! Perfect last line!

  4. Lori says:

    I look forward to my days of lunch, walks and gardens.

Leave a Reply

