#SOL2015 14/31 – Slowing spring with a racing heart

Slice of Life logo
It is sunny and our Minnesota snow is almost gone. My son has called to say he is coming to use the driveway to polish his car. The birds are singing and my heart is racing to move into deep gardening, warm, warm days and dirty hands.

My seeds in the basement are starting to sprout pushing my heart faster. The lettuce seeds I threw in the window pot in my office have sprouted and are reaching for the sun just like I am.

I walk the yard two or three times a day watching for the small changes. (I know there is someone saying how does she have time there is so much to do but it is a small yard and doesn’t take long.)

I wonder around restless and looking for focus. A good book settles me sometimes if it is about nature and the outdoors. (I may need to reread Wild.) At times and chain myself to my desk and get my work done. I write but am finding I am writing more in my garden journal right now then anywhere else. My heart and soul want to race into late spring where I can be muddy all day. Late spring where I can feel the dirt under my finger nails and the heat of sun on my shoulders. Late spring where I can breath in the moist soil and watch the earth worms crawl over my fingers as I dig.

In all this internal racing – I am working on sitting, watching and waiting. Breathing!

It is best that spring take its time. The maple trees need this warm and freeze cycle to let the sap run. (We need and want that sap for syrup.) The plants need to emerge slowing building strength for a long summers growth. We need to stay in a natural cycle of cool spring, rainy season and then a gradual warming into May and June. This is a pattern that should not be disrupted even if my heart wants it to go faster.

When we leap into deep spring this early we know that we as humans have added more issues to the climate change. The jumping from deep cold to hot spring tells us the planet is off kilter.

And so I will walk slowly around the garden this time enjoying the fact that for now my bushes, trees and plants are doing just what they should – waiting patiently for the days to warm slowly.

imgres

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens, Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #SOL2015 14/31 – Slowing spring with a racing heart

  1. arjeha says:

    It seems like we all want things to hurry and get here instead of allowing them the time they need to make it on their own. I love the images you paint with your words. Enjoy the little steps the season takes.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    This winter was so harsh that I think all of us yearn for Spring to hurry. Such joyful anticipation!

  3. lynnjake says:

    Your garden is well loved, and I’m sure it responds to you. There is always something new to look at and take care of isn’t there? Lovely.

Leave a Reply

