#SOL2015 12/31 Spoiled reader

This is going to be short – I have reading to do! I realize that my life of retired teacher has left me spoiled!

I have the freedom to read late into the night or wake up early and stay in bed and read for a few hours. The glory of it all is amazing to me. This is something I don’t think I have ever done until now. Life has always taken control and left me with little time to read for pleasure.

So last night I was cheerfully reading Listen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai. I 9k=was excited when this book came out in early February. I loved Inside Out and Back Again her first book. This one is not written in verse but she pulls you into the life of Mia/Mai and the sights and sounds of Vietnam.

I was more than half way through, the plot was building in a slow and quiet way and I NEEDED to finish the book but I have this part time job at a school.  There was a 7:45 am meeting.

It was 11:00 pm and I am not a morning person. I slowly slid my e-reader into the basket beside my bed and lay in the dark fuming. I was not ready to leave Mai’s village. I needed to know what Grandma was going to do. I needed to know how this situation was going to be resolved.

No the book is not a cliff hanger and nothing will explode. It is just that this author took me on a trip to a small village Vietnam. She took me in to the life of a child who is all American but now slowly understanding her family roots and stories by being with her Grandmother in her home village. This author did what good authors do – she built a whole new world for me to see and understand through her words.

I just didn’t want to let go!  I did and I did get to my meeting on time. But now I can’t give you anymore time – I have to go read!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #SOL2015 12/31 Spoiled reader

  1. Jen says:

    It is so hard to let go of those great reads!

  2. Oh Joanne,
    I think you are the envy of most of us right now!!! Lucky you! Thank you for sharing this slice of retired life!!! Enjoy every minute!
    -Dana

  3. lynnjake says:

    Oh, I can hardly wait to do whatever I want to, to read late and early! Thanks for sharing this glimpse of the future with us!

  4. Story is so powerful – it takes us away and into other worlds a sweet escape – can you imagine what it would be like if you didn’t love to read.

Leave a Reply

