#SOL2015 8/31 Aging but still so young

Slice of Life logoIt is hard to hear what everyone is saying, there are way to many people sitting around a table in the back of a pizza shop. As each new person arrives there is a shouting of Happy Birthday and a new round of introductions. The birthday “boy” is turning 60 but he looks much younger.

It is not his aging that has my focus tonight it is my son who has joined us for this party. The son who has shied away from family/friend events like this, the son who says very little in groups of new people.

This boy of 25 walks causally into the group and greets his uncle. He introduces his girl friend and chats with a few people he does not know before he settles himself near me at the end of the table. He checks in with me and shares their plans for the night.

He has just completed a successful Kick Starter for his new food truck business. He begins by sharing he has secured a truck earlier in the day that he will buy and retro fit. He continues sharing that they will not stay late since he has a nine o’clock meeting with a local dairy where he hopes to get his cheese curds from. He wonders about which contact they will use to complete the work on the truck.

As he is talking I am just staring – who is this boy and when did he become this man of business. The shy kid who would leave a group of kids and hide on the back deck because he was so unsure of himself is long gone. He can still be quiet but there is a confidence about him that is showing the growth of an older man.

When I focus back into what he is talking about he has moved the conversation to family and history, a topic he has not had any interest in. Tonight he is looking to learn about grandparents who are no longer with us, he is here connecting with an uncle who is celebrating a 60th birthday.

I have watched this kid with all his strengths and skills grow up. I know his ability with people, the smile and a few words that can bring people together. I have watched him and yet last night I was still amazed.

He is aging quickly and yet so young!

309520_10101228483735680_706344406_n

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #SOL2015 8/31 Aging but still so young

  1. smpeters says:

    Joanne, your post is beautiful. I can feel your swell of pride with the knowledge that your son has grown into a confident young man – very powerful. I can connect as my own are maturing into independent adults. Thanks for sharing.

  2. bevbaird says:

    I can so identify Joanne. My youngest alway seemed to hang back, to let his older brother and sister lead. Now he has moved, taken a very responsible job and is self assured and mature. It seemed to happen in a blink. Lovely post.

  3. jhaworthoy says:

    Joanne, what a touching post. I can just see you sitting and listening to your son…as he is discussing his new business. He sounds to me like he is a listener…observer…and when he speaks, it is because he has something important to say. My father was like that…and people would say…”we could always tell when Mort had something to say because he would shift in his sitting position…and we would all stop to listen…because when Mort had something to say…we knew it would be important.” I think your son might have those same qualities…and with that is a wisdom many wish they had. Thanks for letting me know your son today.

  4. lynnjake says:

    He sounds like a fine man. It’s so nice to see him become a confident adult. Thanks for sharing him.

  5. tjkfirst says:

    This brought tears to my eyes. I’m the mom of a 25 year old boy…man too, and it is such a bittersweet blessing to see the men they have become, while still wanting that young boy.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    So glad for you, and for your son, that his life is going well. We just grow stages and stages, not every sure how things will be. Your patience and love for him shows so much here, no matter what he is like, still okay. Best wishes for his business-that’s exciting!

  7. barbarasut says:

    Your small moment, watching your son, grew into a very big moment…realizing his growing maturity. Hang in there…it only gets better as they get older. My two thirty-something kids are my favorite people to spend time with! Nice post.
    https://barbarasut.wordpress.com/2015/03/19/yoga-with-a-chair/

Leave a Reply

