It’s Monday! What are you reading? adult reads

Sometimes we need to change things up a bit.  Winter is long, cold and white. I needed to change what I was doing and reading so this last week and returned to adult fiction. I have enjoyed a deep dive into middle grade fiction but personally now needed to stretch out with a book written for adults.

22548670

 

I am reading two books right now, one a re write which is fascinating to read,  By Jonathan O’Dell just released Miss Hazel and the Rosa Parks League. This story is set in pre civil right time in Mississippi. Miss Hazel and Vida, her maid, have both dealt with the lost of a child and can’t stand each other. O’Dell weaves a wonderful story of the south and the relationships that develop over time.

The other book is a bit of an odd little thing I ran across while reading a gardening blog. It is called The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating by Elizabeth Bailey and is a memoir. The author became 9k=critically ill after traveling and is now bed ridden. During this time a friends visits and leaves behind a pot of violets with a large land snail in it. Elizabeth, a past avid gardener and hiker, can’t figure out why this would be a good idea but over time this little fellow becomes her mediation, her comfort in the long hours of laying still in her little room. She watches it slide along the pot, eat dying violet petals, mushrooms and begins to read about the life of a snail.

This is a slow moving mediation on the wonders of life and the creatures around us. She includes wonderful quotes from historical writers. Many of the quotes date back to seventeen or eighteen hundreds and reflects on snails and life as a whole. At least for me it is a little gem.

I have have not finished it since I just found it last night but am excited to return to the quiet, still life of a snail in a small little home. Bailey is a graceful writer who brings you right into her small world of healing and the miniature forest she creates for her friend, the snail.

What adult reading are you doing right now?  It is always good to step between the book world of children and adults just to get a different perspective on life.

Happy Reading!

Oh by the way it is 25 days, 6 hours, 21 minutes and 34 seconds until spring!

Well, at least at the moment I am writing this – check out the spring count down!   http://days.to/spring/2015

IMG_1155

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? adult reads

  1. I can’t wait for spring! I’m listening to an adult book, one David Sedaris’s memoirs. He is so funny! I’m about to begin The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah for my book club. I prefer middle grade and young adult literature over adult books, but you’re right – it’s good to visit adult books once in a while! The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating sounds intriguing!

  2. I’m hoping to get to an adult read over Spring Break. I’ve got The Ocean at the End of the Lane waiting for me.

  3. Myra GB says:

    Love the Spring countdown. Wild Snail Eating looks like a must-read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

