December and the testing begins again!

imagesToday is December 2nd and we began the next round of tests for our 3rd through 5th graders.  It is math for right now (reading will come in January after the winter break). This should help teachers set up new math groups and help kids practice for the spring state tests.

It is amazing to me we tested one class of fifth graders today just to get our feet wet with a new testing computer environment. There were 4 adults hoping to get this test up and going. We did it but what was funny or exciting or just down right scary is the students just walked in, sat down, listened, follow a set of crazy directions, logged in and began testing. They had scratch paper, pencils and off they went.

The growth in testing taking skills was wonderful. Adults were worried but kids just looked like – ok another test!

I must say we are raising a great group of test takers!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to December and the testing begins again!

  1. Tara Smith says:

    Part of me celebrates your kiddos for their positive attitudes…but part of me shudders – testing, and it’s only December!

  2. msssunshine says:

    Thank you for sharing these successes! With new state tests and testing regulations, it’s often hard to see any light in the tunnel, but I’m glad that you were able to find the positives in how well your students behaved while being tested. 🙂

  3. arjeha says:

    I remember when I was teaching it seemed like we were always doing benchmark testing in either reading or math. I often wondered when we had time to actually teach.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      I know teachers were feeling that way as we began this round. At least we are not bringing in the little ones – just 3rd through 5th. It will be interesting to see if this really helps the teachers. I don’t think the students need the practice – I am not sure practice tests make a difference. I think the students need lots of teacher time with the content.

Leave a Reply

