It’s Monday! What are you reading? -likes and dislikes

I have been filling my e-reader with books these days – some from the library and others IMWAYRfrom Net Galleys. It is a wonderful way to read but I must say there can be some ups and downs with new books. Most times I have been excited but my last read left me wanting to quit every time I picked it up to read.

imgresI was reading Get Happy by Mary Amato.  Mary has a long list of books she has written and I love the hook of music. Our main character, Minerva, dreams of owning a ukulele. She writes songs in her notebook and they end up at the end of chapters. Mary includes a great amount of details and builds the relationship with Minerva and her mother as well as her friends.

The story has the intrigue of the missing father in her life – all the parts are there but for some reason I just didn’t really care about the characters. I think Minerva was such a typical, more that negative, teenager that I lost interest in her pretty quickly. I did finish the book to see how it would end. I like the twist as to who really was creating the problems in her life but all the tension shows up in the last two chapters.

It is a book that will pull in a specific type of reader but not sure it will reach a wider audience.  Sorry Mary it just not be my genre. I think I will look at your Mystery series instead –Edgar Allan’s Official Crime Investigation Notebook.

Current Reading:

  • Trash Mountain by Jane Yolan
  • A Dance Like Starlight: One Ballerina’s Dream by Kristy Dempsey- I am fascinated with the word of the illustrator Floyd Copper
  • Nightingale’s Nest by Daniel James Brown

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? -likes and dislikes

  1. Thank you for linking up at IMWAYR.
    The Crime Investigation book sounds intriguing. Looking forward to hearing about it.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  2. i’ve come to the conclusion that Mary Amato can be hit or miss. But when she hits it, her work rocks. One of my favourite books for talking with kids about power and bullying is The Word Eater.

  3. Myra GB says:

    I just visited the Edgar Allan Poe museum in Baltimore and absolutely loved it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

