Open Spaces – Slice of Life

Slice of Life logoThis week I have gone north to sit at the shore of Lake Superior. It is a time to be away, read and write. I have been so excited about this writing time. I told myself I will get so much done.

I brought my computer, my paper journal, my reading both digital and paper. I am prepared!  I have my cup of tea as I sit before the beautiful wide window on to the lake. It is a cool grey day – again perfect for sitting inside and writing.

So…  Here I sit – I have checked Facebook, checked out the PiBoIdMo page, I have checked my two e-mail accounts, gotten more tea, I have texted my son to be sure he votes, I have let my Facebook friends know I have voted, I have turned off my phone so I stop texting and I am still waiting for my brain and fingers to begin to write.

You know some times creating space is just that – creating space.

  • Open time
  • Open lake to view
  • Quiet mind

Maybe that is more important right now than words on a page.

I am going to just sit for now – the ideas and words will come.

I am guessing I just need space.Solglimt view

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Open Spaces – Slice of Life

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    This sounds exactly like my writing process. It’s only natural, don’t fret. Your words will come. I usually find when mine start coming, it’s like the flood gates open. 🙂

  2. Joanne Toft says:

    Thanks- good to know others also sit and wait for words.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    You have found a beautiful place to inspire ideas!

Leave a Reply

