It’s Monday! What are you reading – fiction

You know the on going discussion about reading children’s literature?  Well, I agree thatIMWAYR books are books and we just need to be reading. We learn from reading widely. That said I realized I have been reading mainly middle grade fiction for some time so it was time to create a bit of balance in my reading life.

I did stay with fiction but spent the week reading adult fiction. It is good to step into the adult world now again to remember where books are going. It is important to experience a more complex plot, characters that are a bit more nuanced and vocabulary that makes you stop and think.

imgresMy neighbors are passing around The Art Forger by B.A Sapiro.  It was a great read that made you think about what is real, what is a copy and a forgery. What is the intent of the painter or creator?

Claire Roth, our lead character, is an artist who pays her bills by making copies of famous artists paintings. This side line leads her into the darker side of the art world of paintings stolen, copied and sold around the world. Claire runs a fine line between what is right and where she has stepped into the darker side.

Sapiro sets this story in Boston and connects the mystery to the missing painting at the Isabella Stewart Gardner museum. (historical fiction so to speak)  It is a quick and fun read which could lead to a good book group discussion. If you like mystery books and visual art this is worth looking at for fun.

20307078In the children’s department I am reading Gabriel Finely and the Raven’s Riddle. (August 2014) by George Hagen. It is also a mystery. There is a missing father, ravens that tell riddles, at least the good ones do, and vulravens that live for ever and are seeking power to take over the world.

Gabriel begins to learn the mysteries of his family and his missing father on his 12th birthday. Then with this knowledge he sets off on an adventure to rescue his father.

So far  I am excited to see what happens and how Gabriel and a young raven will solve this story. If you are a Harry Potter reader, or liked The Mark of the Dragonfly you might want to take a look at this one as well. Perfect for 4th and 5th grade students who like adventure. (Sorry I hate to place a book as a boy or girl book but…   It is a good boy book for sure although I am sure girls would like it as well.  I do and I am a girl.)

Happy November Reading!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading – fiction

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I loved Gabriel Findley, a good mystery that turned a bit from what I imagined, & I liked it not being so predictable. I know what you mean about adult books. I used to be a reader of mostly only those, & I miss it. My latest is The Boys In the Boat. Although older students can read it, it is for adults, & I’m enjoying it very much. Happy Reading, Joanne!

  2. Gabriel Finely and the Raven’s Riddle sound like a great read. I find that throwing in the occasional adult read is necessary to ensure that reading doesn’t begin to feel like a job. I’m looking forward to reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane at winter break if not before.

  3. Myra GB says:

    Gabriel Finley does look very interesting. I read quite extensively across various genres but I know what you mean about purposively seeking out a few adult novels every now and again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

