It’s Monday! What are you reading? stories connection to stories

imgres
I just finished I Killed the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora. (May 2014) I love how authors are connecting old stories to new stories. The old reader in me loves that I can think back to these old classics and see how they weave into a new story. The teacher in me loves that an old classic is now being chatted about and brought forward in time to new readers.

I Killed the Mockingbird does not take us into Harper Lee’s story of  To Kill a Mockingbird it is only the jumping off book to a summer of little white lies that aren’t so little, great learning in how to make a book very popular, and the deeper learning of the love of family and friends.

Lucy, Elena and Michael are book lovers and are excited about the summer reading list that includes To Kill a Mockingbird. It is not a favorite of all students and so a plan is hatched to make it be the “go to book” of the summer.

In order for something to become of value it often times needs to be in demand. Things become in demand when there are not many of that thing around. Soooo.. if To Kill A Mocking Bird suddenly can’t be found in bookstores it must be important – right? This simple little idea leads our three to not stealing but just moving copies around, making them hard to find or looking like they are stolen.

This caper runs wild all summer with the aid of a web site on who killed the mocking bird but wild can lead to out of control which is what happens. Acampora does a nice job of building the excitement and making you wonder how they are going to end this escapade without getting into trouble with bookstores, parents and the law.

This is a fun middle grade read and one that connects to the names of so many books and authors. It is a book lovers book. A great way to lead young readers into looking at other books and us old folks into thinking about the books hidden on our shelves.

Other books that could fit into this “genre” – books that connect to books:

Children’s:

  • The Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabensteinimgres-2
  • Steinbeck’s Ghost by Lewis Buzbee
  • Hold Fast by Blue Balliettimagesimgres-1

Adult’s:

  • The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry: A Novel by Gabrielle Zevi
  • The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop: A Memoir, a History by
    Lewis Buzbee ( haven’t read yet but will)

Ok folks – help me out I know there are more but I can’t think of them right now. Let’s start a list – a new genre????    Books that reference other books – the book lovers book.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? stories connection to stories

  1. Megan says:

    I do love books about books! How about Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore and The Universe Versus Alex Woods? Now I will be thinking others! Have a great week ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-2aq

  2. Linda Baie says:

    What a great review, Joanne. Now you’ve really made me move it up on my list! Thanks for the extras, too. I adored The Storied Life… & have just purchased The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop. Hope to get to it soon! Thank you!

  3. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead has to go on that list. After finishing it I went and reread A Wrinkle in Time. I’m not sure if it was better the second time round because I am older and have more experience, or if it was because of reading Stead’s book.

Leave a Reply

