It’s Monday! What are your reading? – documentary novel

countdowncover31Sometime you find a MG book that is great but you realize it is great for you. You being an adult who was a kid in 1960’s. That is just what I found in Deborah Wiles book Countdown, the first of the 60’s trilogy.

It was a fun read since it took me back to my 10 year old self. I knew all her references – songs, people, news reports and the fear behind the Cuban Missile crisis. I got it! Here is a great fiction story tucked into a lot of non fiction articles, posters and sayings from the time period.

It might not be a book kids will pick up on their own but what a great teaching/mentor text! The quick run down for use is

  • learning to compare fiction/non fiction
  • why an author researches
  • how an author uses first source materials with fiction
  • social studies – learning about the 60’s
  • learning about friendships and families
  • point of view -what are different characters thinking and feeling
  • and there is more

I am super excited to begin reading her new one, Revolution.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are your reading? – documentary novel

  1. Myra GB says:

    I’ve been hearing so many great things about Deborah Wiles. I should pick up one of her novels soon. 🙂

  2. Maria says:

    It is great to get a book recommendation from my favorite elementary school teacher! I will check it out.

  3. Hello and nice to hear from you! You know me always reading. Lots of new books to check out!

Leave a Reply

