Who motivates you to read?

imgres

Motivation: stimulate (someone’s) interest in or enthusiasm for doing something

At some point over the weekend I read someones blog (so sorry I can’t find it now to give you credit) about celebrating those people that keep them reading, sharing new books and pushing their thinking about reading.

I thought about this a long time as I sat in my home office with my walls of books, my I-pad next to me with more books in it, and knowing I have pre ordered a few new books (one that showed up today – Wild Things! Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature – so excited to read it later today). Who motivates me?

I was a struggling reader as a kid, my neighborhood book group (I love them dearly) struggles to meet – life gets in the way, my teacher friends are readers but some how teaching gets in the way of discussing books (odd isn’t it), my family all reads and my daughter and I exchange books but no big discussions really.  So who or what fuels this passion for reading?

It has to be the authors and their stories that hold me. As humans we are programed for story. We explain events with stories. We teach young children through stories. A line I have heard often is “Here let me tell you a story so you can understand.”

I came from a family who had many stories not told but held close for reasons unknown. A family who is quiet, with great love un-shown.  I have tried to learn their stories, to find out who I am and where my family has come from emotionally. We have a beautiful two volume set of family history with facts and details. It is amazing but the personal stories are missing. The stories that make you feel, that reach inside you and open your heart are not there.

So I turn to books seeking those stories that make my heart beat faster, the stories that leave me shaking under the sheets, the stories that leave me with a sigh and the need to turn to page one to begin again. It is the story itself that motivates me. It this the careful craft of writers who bring me right up to the emotions of an event and let me feel deeply.

Today I celebrate writers and authors for letting me learn to feel emotions and events through the eyes of their characters. I celebrate authors for giving us stories that keep us reading!

I also celebrate writers who now are showing me the way to sharing my own stories and emotions through story.

Happy Reading and Writing!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who motivates you to read?

  1. daywells says:

    I love this post – stories really DO connect us and help us learn who we are…whether because we’re LIKE the characters or people we learn about, or we are NOT like them. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Jaana says:

    This is a thinking post. It made me think about who encourages me on my reading journey. Still thinking about that. Perhaps it will later turn into a blog post….Thanks for giving me food for thought today!

  3. Lisa Keeler says:

    What a great question to ponder. I really enjoyed your slice today.

  4. arjeha says:

    I don’t know that I ever thought of who motivates. I am going to have to thnk on that. Thanks for setting my wheels in motion.

  5. Yes, this IS great food for thought. At this point in my life, my 2 book clubs motivate me to read. And then when I read, I can’t wait for the discussion to follow! As for who motivates me to write, I’ll have to think on that one. I also believe there are stories from my family that need to be told…

Leave a Reply

