It’s Monday! What are you reading? -War books – not really

imagesOk, I have to be honest here I did not read this week! Especially not war books. There I said it. I always read so this was a bit odd and embarrassing.

I scanned web sites, looked at Facebook and visited with people. We were on the road to see family. I visited with my Mother, who is 95. We looked at pictures and I read some bits and pieces of family history to her.

We traveled on to my husbands family where we talked and talked and eat. But in all the talking there was a nephew about to be 8 years old, who is way bright for his age. He was reading war books!

So we took a look at my e-books looking for new reads for him. His mother was hoping I am leading him into new topics. So here is a list of what we looked at and what he thought might be interesting to read. Ā (Mind you he is 8 almost but he has already given me the start and end years for both WWI and World Ward II. He wants to discuss Vietnam but his mother has stepped in to say “you need to be older” to read and discuss that war. He has commented that is baby brother who is marching around the table must be on a pilgrimage seeking food and knowledge.)

With this knowledge and understand we opened up my i phone and began looking – it was like our own private library to explore!

Here is what he found interesting –

  • Chasing Lincoln’s Killer ( yes, perfect he says – this will give me real information about the guy who did the killing right? )
  • The winter of Robots ( cool – I could read about robots. We discussed that this one was fiction – he was ok with that)
  • Books by Avi ( to many to list) historical fiction
  • Capture the Flag
  • Hide and Seek
  • Manhunt
  • The Danger Box
  • Peter Nimble and the Fantastic Eyes
  • Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library

As you can see we moved from non fiction to fiction attached to historical items or events and then on to mystery/ fantasy.

But it has me thinking – what are good books to read for that kid who is young but really into war.

I would love your ideas so I can pass them on to my young reader!

images-2

 

 

 

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? -War books – not really

  1. Linda Baie says:

    There is one by Steve Sheinkin, The Notorious Benedict Arnold, that I think looks good, although I still haven’t read it. And he also wrote Lincoln’s Grave Robbers. Do you know the Collier Brothers’ books? Published a while ago, but they cover war topics, Joanne. Since I teach in a school for gifted children, we have this problem all the time-a tough one to find appropriate books for tough topics, like war. Best wishes to you all for finding some good ones for your young nephew.

    • Thanks these are all new to me so will check out what I can find in the library and pass them on. I am always looking for easy readers for my struggling readers in poverty – so it is great fun for me to look at the other side for a change. Thanks again.

  2. My third graders really love the “I Survived” series, and many of those books deal with war times in a kid-appropriate way. Also check out the “Dear America” and “My America” series, which are diary-style historical fiction and many include war times.

    Per the comment above, the Collier books are likely a little too heavy for an 8 year old, especially if Mom isn’t overly enthusiastic about the war focus. I’d wait a few years on those.

Leave a Reply

