Letting Go and Creating New

Slice of Life logoIt is the end of the first year of retirement. It has been an interesting journey in letting go and creating new. There is and was a push pull about ending my teaching. I loved the students, the building and teaching of curriculum, the creativity in reaching the needs of all the students. I did not like the politics, the pulling of students to be ready to test when they needed more time to process and understand or the daily push to keep going.

Teaching over time had lost its creative edge that I so loved and had made it a dream job for me. I am still glad I walked away last year but I miss the light bulb moment when a student looks at you and you know they got it. I miss the smiles, the craziness and the hard work of students working learn.

I have spent the year –

  • as a part time/part year reserve teacher for someone with cancer,
  • a volunteer for field trips
  • a reading partner for a few gifted readers who needed a bit of a push to keep going at their level
  • I read a ton of children’s books
  • wrote on my blog
  • reconnected with organizations I use to work with (a local wild nature center, the local arboretum, etc)
  •  walked around my house a bit lost
  • drank tea in the cold of winter
  • walked and walked and walked
  • started a meet a friend on Thursday for tea –
  • started knitting a small blanket but haven’t gotten to far with that
  • got out my camera to start taking photos again
  • and began writing fiction again

As you read down the list you can see I am slowly letting go of  teaching and moving into other creative work. I hope to keep connected to students in some way for a while but I also realized that if I want to write – really write – not just my blogs. I need to settle down, close my office door and get to it.

This leads me to setting goals for year two of retirement – yeah, yeah all the house projects are still on the list – they are getting down oh so slowly but the big project is writing. Writing for me. Writing to complete the stories started. Just writing!

imgres-1

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letting Go and Creating New

  1. K. Renae P. says:

    You were pretty busy for your first year of retirement. Good luck writing!

  2. Kate Schwarz says:

    Life is a balance of holding on and letting go, isn’t it? … And this morning in my book of days-type book by Mark Nepo he oh-so-wisely guided the reader into realizing that many of life’s wonderful moments (such as a snowflake falling, or watching a rain storm, or observing a bird in flight) are slow. And many of life’s biggest frustrations are caused when we are forced to slow down. It’s best when we choose to slow down, are in the habit of slowing down. It’s so hard here in America, but it looks like you had a great first year in starting that practice. Write, write, write!

  3. arjeha says:

    I can so relate to this. I find it hard to believe that year one of retirement is just about over. Where did it go? I like your goals for year two.

  4. Jaana says:

    Great reflection. Wishing you many new ideas and inspiration for your writing career!

  5. jmjd says:

    I know too many friends who fear the blank calendar. Kudos to you for using it wisely.

  6. elle1955 says:

    Every moment is about letting go and creating new. Some moments are just bigger than others

Leave a Reply

